Results of the Results

2004-04-22 at 9:45 a.m.


Result Show...

Well, hmm. I've said all along that I fail to be surprised by the American Idol result shows anymore. Ever since season one, America's voting habits never cease to amaze me. Here's what I think about this week's voting.

I am somewhat surprised, but certainly not floored by last night's results. Jennifer Hudson likely got the boot because of her attitude. I will concede that there are people there less talented than she. I concede that she can indeed sing and has an ability out of which she can likely base a career. However, her attitude SUCKS.

Did you see her last night? Did you watch her facial expressions when she was called down to group "A"? She assumed, like we all did, that she was in the "safe" group. Did you see her attitude change when she found out she was in the low-vote group? Instead of being happy for the four safe contestants, her jaw dropped, like she couldn't fathom such an injustice. That speaks volumes on how she feels about her fellow competitors.

I was more shocked to see LaToya and Fantasia in the bottom three than I was to see Jennifer sent home. I think the same thing happened to those three, that happened to John S on "movie night". Fans get complacent and assume their favorite is safe because they performed well. Further proof that if you like a certain contestant, you must vote. If it's important to you at all, pick up the phone and vote. Otherwise, don't complain about the outcome.

Something bothers me about last night's show. The judges and even the host telling people that this isn't a popularity contest. I have to take issue with that to a certain extent. There are various reasons why people like who they like. Talent, to a certain degree, is a personal opinion.

I mean, we all have to agree that William Hung has no talent, right? Well, there are plenty of performers YOU all like, that I can't stand. Most of the people in the limelight these days, for example are people I would send packing if they sent me audition tapes. I won't mention these performers names, because I'd likely offend all of you.

Having the judges and Ryan telling people to vote for "the talented" ones, really is a slap in the face to the contestants in the top four. It implies they believe George, Jasmine, John or Diana should have gotten the heave-ho.

Maybe they should have. But that isn't for THEM to say. If it were, then America wouldn't have to option of voting. Their comments were also a slap in the face to America, who likely was voting for who they feel is most talented. The insertion of their personal opinions is unsolicited.

I find it ironic they mention this now... Let's take season one, for instance. People I found to be talented, Christina and Tamyra, hit the road weeks before one freaskish Nikki McKibbin. I think she probably had too many people with multiple phone lines on her side for whatever reason. Fair? Probably not, but that's how the show is based. On popular vote. Like or leave it.

Shall we discuss season two? The judges are quite critical of contestants who don't command their audience. Contestants who have no personality or seem boring and lack charisma. Wait... I'm conjering an image...

~ Failure to command an audience

~ Boring

~ No personality

~ No charisma

Put those things together and you have LAST SEASON'S WINNER.

Sorry Ruben fans, but it's the truth. It's a double standard. He had singing ability but nothing else. So why condemn how people are voting?

Just my two cents. Send no hate mail please.

last & next

new old profile notes design host