Kids Should Never Ever Ever Die...

2004-04-02 at 4:56 p.m.


A friend of E's died yesterday.

His name was Bar-ry and he was 12 years old. He had been sick in the past year, but I had no idea to what extent.

I am so upset by this. I cried all the way home after reading the note sent home from the principal. E seems to be feeling indifferent. I asked if he was sad about B and he said, "Not really". Is this normal?

I think perhaps E just can't fathom the concept of death. I think, to him, it's the same as if B had transferred to another school. He asked me how B died. I couldn't answer. I remember B had a perforated bowel and had to wear a colostomy bag. Then B missed several months of school and returned last term in a wheelchair.

His obituary simply said he died of natural causes.

This world is a fucked up place. People who are cruel, vicious and filled with hate are allowed to take up space on our planet, while just down the road from me, a man and woman will be burying their fifth grade son tomorrow.

How just is that?

I'm still crying.

I met B once. He was a nice kid. He was a special needs boy, like E. He told me that if I sent E to Vacation Station, he would be sure to look out for him and watch over him.

I guess he's watching over us all now.

last & next

new old profile notes design host