Storms and Zits

2004-08-26 at 8:47 a.m.


The weather we're having is the most back-asswards I can remember in a long time. August, for the most part here in eastern Misery, is hot, humid and oppresive. This August, though, has been cool, pleasant and fall-like.

This week, it's been spring. Spring in August. The past three days, we've had a thunderstorm a day. Yesterday was a severe one - unusual for this late in the season.

My plans to grill tuna steaks were thwarted by all the rain. I'd never seen the sky so black in the afternoon. At least I had the presence of mind to bring in my poor mums, which had blown clear to the neighbors house during Tuesday's storm. I'm not destined to keep live plants. These mums should have lasted well into October, but they're looking like grim death from being blown all over.

The kids continue to enjoy school. E finds the chore a little easier each day. He has OT everyday and is allowed to choose a friend to go with him. Since he hasn't really met anyone he considers a friend yet, he chooses J. I love that. I feel this will do J nothing but good. It's ironic... even though E is older, J seemed to take charge of things when school started. E kind of follows along, letting J take the lead. I thought it might be that way. It's cute.

Tonight is third grade open house. I'm taking E since I've never met his teacher or paras. I think he's looking forward to showing me around.

I have a huge zit brewing. I have to keep checking my date of birth to see if I'm still a teenager and didn't know it. What business do I have getting zits at my age? This one is at the corner of my mouth and is so big, the entire right side of my face hurts. I'll keep you posted on its development.

I should get showered and get something done today. Bye all.

last & next

new old profile notes design host