Helliday Weekend

2004-06-01 at 9:15 a.m.


There goes May!

What a way to spend the holiday weekend...

With food poisoning.

K came down with it yesterday and I've had it since Sunday morning. We first thought it could be attributed to a blueberry pie we bought from a Ma and Pa grocery store. But E had some yesterday and seems to be fine. G has had diarrhea for a few days now, so whatever we ate, he must've as well.

I feel like I'm one giant gas bubble, ready to explode. Antacids aren't working. I'm miserable. I'm kind of glad K came down with it, too. When I first started having symptoms, I'm sure he didn't believe me. He thinks I'm a hypocondriac. I'm glad to see him suffering, too. Hehehehe...

Being sick was the highlight of the weekend. The kids were monsters and the weather was atrocious. Out of the past seven days, five of them had us seeking shelter from tornadoes. One touched down about two miles from here Friday. (Or was it Saturday?) Last night, the sky was pitch black at 7:00pm. Luckily, we only got rain then. Thursday, after I had gotten E from school, we got caught in a hail storm. It was raining so hard, I had to pull over (on my old street, to be exact!) The hail pelted my car and was so loud, the kids and I couldn't even hear each other talk. I figured my car would look like a golf ball afterwards, but surprisingly, it didn't. Gotta love the midwest. And people ask me how I stood the earthquakes of southern California all those years...

E sees his pdoc on two weeks. I plan to tell her his meds are no longer working. I think he's outgrown them. He's bigger now and his metabolism is changing. I just think his current meds and/or dosage no longer suit his needs. He's absolutely out of control at all times. He bounces off walls continually and can't say two words without using profanity. I mean, downright offensive profanity. Things that would shock even the most experienced parent. When he isn't running laps through the house, he's being so rude, he brings me to tears. You should hear the way he talks to me...

"Are you DEAF, you freak?? I said MAKE ME SOMETHING TO EAT!!"

"You just don't get it, do you mom?"

"Let me tell you how things are going to be around here... "

"I'm sick and fucking tired of you telling me what to do!"

This, from an eight year old. If I try to punish him, he gets violent. I feel like he has me right where he wants me. He calls the shots and if I try to exercise any parental authority, he starts trashing things. Physically, he's stronger than I am. He can outrun me and the restraining tactics I once used are pointless. He throws things and breaks items of value. He's always remorseful when he calms down, but getting to that point is nearly impossible, especially when he refuses his meds.

I know a lot of this stems from the school year coming to an end. He's rebelling against me for taking him away from his current school. I think he figures that if he screws up enough, I'll be forced to keep him at W. Believe me, I wish I could. But legally, I can't. And from a convenience standpoint, I can no longer afford to spend $1.85 a gallon for gas to run him back and forth between here and there.

His school year ends a week from Thursday. The term at his new school begins at the end of August. Those three months are going to be hell. Four months of sheer hell. How will I survive those five months? It'll be the longest six mont... well, you get the picture.

In order to try new meds, we may have to detox him. We've done this in the past when he was much younger. It wasn't pretty. I don't expect it to be easy this time, either. I'm trying to plan a summer chock full of activities to keep him from getting bored, but when he gets in his "out of control" mode, he isn't receptive to things like that. I have my work cut out for me. Wish me luck.

Well, I need to hit the grocery store for grubb. I hate having to take the younger boys with me. Wish me luck there, too.

Maybe I'll just play Poppit one more time instead...

last & next

new old profile notes design host