Wretched crap

2004-03-31 at 9:06 a.m.


I'm so disappointed. Coomers Craft Mall is out of business. I don't know if they have them around the country, but they're a big grocery store-sized building with hundreds of booths. Crafters in the area rent the booths to sell their craft items. I loved going there and getting things for the house. I drove down the highway the other day and noticed they were gone.

I stopped in at the thrift store next to it and asked when Coomer's went out. They said it's been a couple of months. Jeez, I need to get out more.

I perused the thrift store for bargains, but found none. On all the decorating shows, they're always finding these awesome deals.

Not me.

Naturally, they had the living room suite from 1971, complete with dark wood trim and orange and brown velvet upholstery. You know, the kind you see displayed in every thrift store.

Some of the stuff there I wouldn't dream of donating to charity. Who on earth would spend $2 on a ratty, moth-eaten t-shirt with stains down the front, when you can go to Wal Mart and buy a brand new one for $3? I don't know who's crazier... the idiots who donate shit like that or the people who place it on a hanger and actually think it will sell. Or you could buy an ugly, dated, bulky and broken microwave for $15... or buy a new one, with a warranty, for $35. Hmmm... let me ponder. NOT!!

Speaking of awful, outdated crap... my mother bought me the best thing! It's a catalog from National Bellas Hess from 1961! For those unfamiliar, NBH was a department store in the midwest way back when. This catalog is absolutely hilarious. I found it amusing and revolting, all in one.

You know what amazes me most about it? Well, besides the awful clothing, incredibly low prices, ridiculous poses (two men standing around in their thermal underwear, leaning into each other with their wrists flexed??) nauseating fabric, lamps that look like the air filter on my Chev-elle, infant's clothing that says, "Have a Soda Pop" across the leg, shoes that look more normal than the ones available today, maternity clothing that looks like paint smocks for clowns, the credit application that asks - if you're a farmer - how many eggs do you sell a week and rumble seats without seat belts for cars??

The fact that toasters had to be bought ON TIME because they were $12 !!!!! Toasters are cheaper than that now! Can you imagine telling people... "Two more payments and this toaster will be ALL MINE!?"

What entertainment! I haven't laughed (or wretched) that hard in ages.

Well, E is in school (YAY!! YES!! ALL RIGHT!! WOO HOO!! AWESOME!!!! FUCKIN' A!! WOOT WOOT!)

*Ahem*

.. so I'm going to try to do some scrapbooking today. Wish me luck.



last & next

new old profile notes design host