America on Crack/Squirrel Stew

2004-05-13 at 10:11 a.m.


The crack epidemic must be worse than I suspected. It's evident that American Idol voters are highly addicted.

Part of me is utterly stunned at the voting results from last night. Another part of me remembers the travesty of season one and isn't the least bit surprised at what passes for talent these days.

Recently, I wrote about talent being a mat-ter of opinion, not fact. I still believe that. If America finds Jasmine to be more deserving of a million dollar recording contract than LaToya, so be it. I'm embarassed for anyone who feels that way, but as I've said... that's the nature of the show.

I think Jasmine's tears Tuesday night swayed the vote. I think anyone who even remotely likes her or has liked her, felt a little tug at their heartstrings and voted for her to spite Simon and his comments, which by the way, were kind, as far as I'm concerned. I thought her performances were atrocious. "Everlasting Love" was so excrutiating, I had to leave the room. It was actually painful. Only U2 and Clay did that song justice.

LaToya has always been a class act. Even when getting the axe, she took it like a lady, smiled and accepted her fate. I'm willing to bet she was offered a recording contract before she even left the building last night.

There's a "fine print" disclaimer in the American Idol rules, which states that in the event of a fiasco, the producers reserve the right to intercede. I think if Jasmine continues on another week, it will be a fiasco. I can't imagine her being offered a million dollar recording contract. The entire show will be a laughingstock. Who would buy her CD? It would go down as a bigger disaster than Justin Guarini's debut CD, which sold tens of copies - most of which to his own family.

Did you see Paula? She was sobbing. Not wiping tears away or crying softly. She was full-on blubbering! I imagine it's hard to see people you've come to love having to leave. Especially when they deserve to stay.

Enough about that...

We invited M and S over to dinner last night. A few weeks back, I made a Mexican Beef Stew in the crock pot and they stopped by after I had served it. I had them try some and they loved it. I'm not surprised M did, but I was floored that I actually made something S would eat. She's as picky as a child (which would shock the hell out of you if ever saw her!) So when I planned to make the stew again last night, I invited them to join us. They were supposed to have been over at 5:30pm. At 6:20pm, I started to get pissed. K called them and found out that on their way, they went grocery shopping (!!!) then had to go back home to let our their damn dog. They live close to 20 miles in the opposite direction from where they came, which was the office.

Finally, at 7:00pm, they showed up. I was weak with hunger and ready to stick my entire face in the crock pot at this point. Luckily, they brought a coconut cake to keep me from killing them.

M ate like he was a starving child on a "Feed the Children" ad. It's not surprising. All they eat is fast food. I bet it's been months since he's had a decent, home-cooked meal.

I had to take E to school today. I hate having to drive anymore, with gas prices the way there are. I prefer K take him in his company car. On the way, I hit a squirrel. I saw it coming, but there wasn't anything I could have done. I was on a county highway where the speed limit is 50, so stopping was out of the question. There was oncoming traffic, so swerving was ill-advised, as well.

On the way back, I hit yet another squirrel. This one ran across the road, out of my way, but then jumped back in the road just as I drove past. Dumb thing. I thought turkeys were the dumbest animal.

Well, I'm off to Pogo to play some solitaire. Great game, great song.

last & next

new old profile notes design host