Busy Weekend

2004-10-03 at 7:21 a.m.


Whew - another hectic weekend around here.

Friday morning, we got the kids onto their busses, then drove to the car wash. We had a coupon for half off a premium wash and wanted to use it before it expired. After a fill-up and wash, we were $52 poorer. Yikes!

Then we went on to Mimi's Cafe. It was so good to go back again. We always go to the ones in California, but this was the first one to open in this area. The last time I went, was with Larry, to the one in Ventura. I remembered that fact midway through my meal and got quite reminiscent.

We walked through a World Market store afterwards, then came home to get J off his bus. Soon afterwards, I went to get my neighbor Marc!a, to see if she wanted to go shopping with me. She was grateful that I had gotten her out of cleaning and I was grateful that she had turned me on to a great resale shop, where I found three pairs of jeans for E and a pair of cargo pants for G.

We then went to Once Upon a Child, where we both found some great deals. I got a jacket for J, as well as a few shirts and some pants. I got a pullover for E, some more pants for G and another damned Teletubbies video for him, as well. It's actually more for me than him. I need something different to overhear than the same old Teletubbies crap he's been watching.

We went to a thrift store to check for bargains. I didn't find anything, but Marc!a found some sweats for her daughter that looked brand new. While we were there, Kev!n called to tell me that J and G were screaming bloody murder at each other and hadn't stopped since I left. So?? I deal with it every fuckin' day, pal. Get over it and stop wasting my wireless minutes.

Marc!a and I stopped for milkshakes, then went home.

Kev!n took E and his friend, Tr!stan swimming Friday night. They had a great time. T had never been to the pool at the YMCA and asked if they could take him every week. He's a sweet kid - I really like him.

Saturday was just as hectic. First thing in the morning, Cra!g brought my Chevelle home, as you witnessed in yesterday's pictures. I'm so happy to have my car back. I took it for a putt around the neighborhood (trying to draw attention to it - hehehehe) and it felt so good to drive it again. Everything on that car is still so tight and new, just like it was fresh off the showroom floor and not 35 years old.

Throughout the day, at least 10 of our neighbors came by to drool over it. Now all we have to do is clear out the garage so we have room to park it. One side of our garage houses Kev!n's tools and the lawn mower, Kev!n's truck is in the second side and the kids' bikes, some file cabinets and the boxes I've yet to unpack are in the third car side. We have boxes in the garage that most people would keep in their basement. I'm hesitant to keep anything of value in our basement, because I'm afraid the cats would scratch it up or piss on it.

Later I went to WalMart for our usual WalMart stuff. My WM is currently being remodeled, so nothing is where it usually is. People were all wandering around, looking dazed and confusious. I must look like a WalMart employee, because three people stopped me to ask where shit was. Who am I, Suzie Retail?? I'm just as lost as you, pal. Of course, I didn't say this aloud, because I'm a friendly bundle of sunshine.

Shut up. I am, too.

At WM, I found myself a couple of pairs of pants, CHEAP. I brought some lunch home for the guys, then went back out to do some grocery shopping. I decided to forego (sp??) my usual trip to Aldi and shop at a "real" store this time. I spent a bundle, but at least I got enough to last my brood three weeks or so.

While I was shopping, Kev!n called to tell me that M and S came by and wanted us to go out to dinner with them at a place up near their house. I didn't think anything was near their house. I had my doubts about taking the kids out so late at night. It was 8:00pm by the time we sat down to eat. G had fallen asleep and never did wake up to eat. M held G so I could eat and then we switched.

The restaurant didn't offer a non-smoking section, so my the end of the meal, I had a killer headache and my lungs were burning. Usually, I absolutely refuse to be subjected to cigarette smoke, but this place was so far away and it was so late, I didn't want to stall things any further. Aside from the smoke, the meal was fantastic - as it should have been for the price. Yikes!! There goes Kev!n's paycheck!

That brings me to today. J is sick with a bad cold. It was in the 30s last night and it's rather chilly in the house right now. I may have to break down and turn on the heat, something I swore I would never do so early in the season. But with a sick child and all...

Have a good weekend!

last & next

new old profile notes design host