Doctor, packing, credit cards and birthday parties...

2004-10-06 at 9:09 a.m.


Thanks for all your kind notes and messages. I needed them! Yesterday was one of those "breaking point" days. I reached my breaking point and I had just had all I could take.

I think E realized how much he hurt me yesterday afternoon. He was using the computer and found something in my desk drawer that he had asked me to mail for him. I didn't have a chance, nor a stamp to do so. He scolded me like I was a four year old. I informed him that the reason I hadn't had a chance to mail his precious letter, was because I had spent the entire day cleaning up after him and his brothers.

Ironically enough, the letter... was to Santa! Strange how a child old enough to condescend to his own mother and drive her to tears, still believes in Santa Claus.

Today I have to take G to a doctor's appointment. I'm long overdue for his three year check. I'm dreading doing this, because I have to take J with me. I hope he can sit still and behave while I talk to the doctor. I also hope we all don't come away with colds, which is common after a trip to the pediatrician, even with separate sick and well child waiting areas.

Well, I did some research and found what I think will be the best credit card for us. I wanted something with no annual fee and that would pay us something back at the end of the trail. Interest rate wasn't as much of a concern to us, because we do plan to pay the balance in full every month, or as a worst case scenario, carry a very small balance for a month. I applied online this morning and I'm anxiously awaiting a response. I'm sure we'll be declined. It's amazing to me that we were able to get a $207,000 home loan, pay cash for a $40,000 vehicle, but couldn't get approval on a $600 Dell fucking computer. I hope I didn't take an inquiry hit on our credit report for nothing, but I'll never know unless I apply. I guess we'll see...

To make my miserable self feel better yesterday, I packed for my trip! I have to iron some shirts to be completely done. I plan to do some clothes shopping when I'm there, as usual, so if I don't have seven days worth of outfits, it won't bother me. Plus, I can always do laundry while I'm there and... *Gasp* wear the same outfit twice. November is a tricky time of year to try to figure outfits. On the beach, it gets downright chilly at night, but during the day, especially when we go inland to shop, it gets quite warm. I end up packing shorts, t-shirts, long sleeve shirts, sweatshirts, pants and jackets. Plus a swimming suit!

Wow, I'm rambling about clothes...

J has been invited to yet another birthday party. I'm not sure whether this is a sign the kids really do like him or if it's a "invite everyone in the class" thing. This time it's a little girl and the party is at her house. At least with it being a girl, I can put together my usual "girl gift basket" that I do on the rare occasions my boys get invited to girl's parties. I get a little backpack or basket and fill it with black paper, flourescent colored markers and gel pens, stickers, stamps and other "girlie" art supplies. All the girls who've gotten them just loved them. I hope little Kayla does, too.

Well, I guess I better shower and get ready for G's appointment.


last & next

new old profile notes design host