Monday, Monday

2004-10-18 at 9:02 a.m.


Good morning! I trust everyone had a good weekend? Good.

The weekend was actually a pleasurable one around here, with minimal fighting and no bloodshed whatsoever. I call that a success.

Saturday, I did my grocery shopping at the WalMart Supercenter in WhiteTrashVille. I was glad I did. To get to WhiteTrashVille from here, your only option is a winding, curvy state highway known for its accidents. Saturday, however, the drive was quite enjoyable. The fall colors are currently at their peak and the trees were spectacular! It reminded me why I wanted to move back to this godforsaken shithole in the first place.

I lay awake nights thinking about how much money I spent shopping Saturday. I have to keep reminding myself that I got not only groceries, but pajamas for the kids, diapers and pullups and other assorted sundries. Funny how spending that much money at four stores wouldn't bother me as much as spending it all in one place. At least we don't have a mortgage payment until December. After that, we'll likely never eat again.

E has a sore and scratchy throat but insisted on going to school today. I hate to be "one of those mothers" who sends their children to school ill, but he assured me he felt well enough to go. How odd is that - to argue with your child over whether or not he goes to school and be on the "stay home" side of the argument.

I think E just wanted to go and smoke another spelling test. He knew all the words over the weekend and feels confident he'll get a 104%. Last week, he got 103%, missing only one word...

VIDEO!!

I had to laugh - the video king himself missing the word video!

We had a huge storm last night. Weird, how we've already had below-freezing temps, yet now we're having springlike thunderstorms and 80 degree weather. That's Missouri for ya..

I woke up to discover the electricity off. I called the power company from my cell phone and was told they expect service to be restored by 7:15am. At 7:15am sharp, it came back on. Ha. That's the most reliable thing this power company of ours has ever done.

Kev!n put the kids on their busses this morning, because I simply don't do Mondays. When he came back in, I heard him talking. "Oh great... " I thought. He brought a neighbor in with him. I look like hell, still wearing pajamas and with yesterday's mascara pooling under my eyes. Why does Kev!n do that shit? Bringing people in here to see me when I look like death?

Marc!a wanted to tell me about an idea she had for the neighbor kids for Halloween. Eh, more money I have to spend. But it is a cute idea, I suppose. We're leaving bags of candy and toys for the neighbor kids from the "Phantom Ghost". She's going to do my boys and in turn, we'll choose some other family for whom to leave gifts and candy. As if they won't be getting enough shit trick-or-treating....

I was embarrassed when Marc!a said, "You're still in your JAMMIES?!" I wanted to say, "Sweetie... I'll still be in my jammies at fuckin' noon." Whereas she was dressed to the nines, had on a full face of make up and enough perfume that I'm still smelling it in my kitchen 45 minutes later.

Well, I guess I better do something productive, other than getting dressed, that is...

last & next

new old profile notes design host