Nice day, I guess

2004-10-22 at 3:25 p.m.


Wow, it's a beautiful day here. It's sunny, warm - 73 degrees - and breezy. I can't seem to get into the nice weather, though. My mind wanders away from me today, wishing I was in California. I feel like I should be at Larry's side. I feel useless here.

To help keep my mind off of things yesterday, I built our new dining room set.Well, built isn't exactly the right word. Assembled is more like it. I think it came out great. Usually, you have to chose between furniture you can afford and furniture you like. This was both. Of all the sets we saw, this one was far and away the nicest and the least expensive. Can you believe it came from WalMart??

I've ordered a hutch that I think will match it perfectly. Slowly, but surely this place is coming together.

I went to a Home Interiors party last night at my neighbor, Paula's house. I wasn't really up for being social, because I was afraid I would cry at the thought of Larry's dad. I went ahead and went though, just to get out of the house. I'm curious to see everyone's house in the neigborhood, so I'll likely go to every party to which I'm invited.

Paula's house is pretty, but quite a bit smaller than ours. She has the walls painted some bold colors - colors I might not have chosen but they work. She has the same color hardwood, cabinets and staircase spindles as I do.

I bought a print to hang in my butler's pantry. I spent more than I should have but I always feel obligated to do so. I hate being the only one not purchasing something, plus I would hate it if someone came to a party of mine just for the food and to check out my house!

On the way back, we took a flyer from the house that's for sale. I suspect it's vacant. I haven't seen hide nor hair of those people in weeks. I'm guessing they got transferred. Since the flyer failed to list the price of the home, I looked it up online. I'd give you the link, but it mentions the address and I live only two doors down. I'm not really up for being stalked right now. Perhaps another time.

I was stunned to learn they're asking $294,900 for that place. It's got some options ours doesn't, but it's 700 square feet smaller. I hope they get it. I'd love to think my place is worth that.

Well, E is due off the bus soon, so I better wrap this up. Thanks for all the kind words. You guys ROCK!

last & next

new old profile notes design host