Brotherly Love

2004-09-23 at 9:23 a.m.


Don't you love getting phone calls from the principal's office?

I just got a call from the boys' school, informing me that E had taken it upon himself to relay a message to J's bus driver. He told her that I told him to tell her to do something about the other kids constantly picking on J.

I did no such thing.

I see the bus driver every morning, and had I had a message to give her, I would have given it to her myself. Yes, I am concerned about the continuing problem of J getting tormented on the bus. Evidently, there are two little boys who make constant fun of J for the toys he brings for show and tell and the Wiggles backpack he carries. These are older boys and obviously don't like the things J likes. When he shows them a stuffed Barney or Boohbah toy, naturally, they're going to react with disgust.

I've repeatedly asked J to keep his show and tell toys in his bookbag until he gets to his class, but he obviously isn't doing so.

He told me that the day he brought the Barney, the kids pretended to pour gas on it and set fire to it. I know J couldn't have concocted a story like that, because he simply doesn't know about gasoline and how fires start. Those words clearly came from an older child.

The bus driver was quite upset that E had confronted her and was afraid that I might be angry with her. I guess now, as if I have nothing else to do, I had better confront the bus driver and assure her that the message did not come from me, but from a protective older brother. Ironic how E can torment the shit out of J at home, but watch the fuck out, if someone ELSE does it.

I guess that's how I was with my brother, too.

last & next

new old profile notes design host