Friday, November 26, 2004

2004-11-26 at 8:39 a.m.


I hope everyone had a good Thanksgiving!

We actually haven't had ours yet. Yesterday was pretty much like any other day around here. As I've mentioned, our official dinner will be tonight, as M and S spent yesterday with her family.

Wednesday, the kids were off of school. Had they been in session, I'm certain they would have closed school early. We got at least four inches of snow, more in spots, and the roads were a disaster most of the day. This storm didn't take anyone by surprise, so why snow plows weren't on stand-by, I don't know.

Kev!n left work at 3:15pm and didn't arrive home until 5:30pm. This is a 25 minute drive on a good day. I braved the elements to do some grocery shopping Wednesday night. The most treacherous of conditions was on my own street. Isn't that a hell of a note - $4,000 a year in property taxes and my fucking street doesn't get plowed when it snows for the first time.

The roads weren't too bad, but the parking lot at the grocery store was. How hard would it have been to have it plowed?? I hate that parking lot anyway - full of potholes and not a level space in the damn place. Add three to six inches of slush and ice, and you have a punitive suit waiting to happen.

Finding a cart was just as big a feat. Every cart had six inches of snow in it. Jesus Christ! They can't brush the snow out of the carts for their customers? The floors were a pool of standing water for the first three aisles. It was a mess.

Anyway, I got enough goods to prepare Thanksgiving dinner and to get us through today and I got the hell out of there. As I was pulling out of my parking space, I got stuck behind a bank of snow. Luckily, since all I drive are SUVs, I was able to get out easily with little effort.

We didn't do a lot yesterday, other than my cleaning the house and Kev!n's assembling of the Christmas tree.

Yes, you read that right... Mr. Let's Not Put up the Tree Until December 22nd actually volunteered to get the tree up on Thanksgiving Day. Having an artificial tree has its advantages. After that was complete, he took the lights we would have put on the tree, had it not been a pre-lit, and put them on the outside of the house. Mr. Let's Not Put up the Tree Until December 22nd and Let's Certainly NEVER Put up Outside Lights, took it upon himself to hang outside lights. They look sloppy and unkempt, but I have to applaude the effort.

I spent half the day cleaning and the other half online, Christmas shopping. I'm proud to say that I'm approximately 85% finished. I have to make a run to Kmart for a scooter for J and some Teletubbies/videos for G, and a run to WalMart for art supplies for E and some CDs for my mom, then I'm DONE.

Except for M and S, whose perfect gift still eludes me. They're so hard to buy for.

I plan to send my grandmothers pictures of the kids. Maybe a WM gift card. Who knows.

But I'm a lot further along than I usually am this time of year.

Well, I better take a shower and begin cooking my feast. Have a good day, all.

last & next

new old profile notes design host