A date!

2004-09-03 at 5:48 p.m.


I hate Walgreen's with the heat of a thousand suns. I always have, but I hate them more now. Yesterday, with $3.13 to my name, I went to Walgreen's to get some juice for the kids. We were out of absolutely everything in the house and the boys were begging for juice. Because E was due to get off the bus soon, I opted to go to Walgreens, versus going all the way south of the highway to the nearest grocery store.

They had their own brand on sale 2 for $3.00. I only needed one, so I chose it and two candy bars for the boys as a treat - especially for J, who was having a rotten day.

I put my items on the checkout counter. I was given the total $3.38. I asked the clerk if that was correct. The candy was 2 for $1 and the juice should have been $1.50. She searched the ad for what seemed like forever, then went to the juice aisle to determine its price. She came back and said, "The juice is 2 for $3.00 or $2.19 each." I told her that was ridiculous - that every other store on the planet would charge $1.50 per item for something that was on sale 2 for $3.

Snottily, she said, "Why don't you put back the candy and buy two juices, since you don't have enough money?" (This was said at the tops of her tobacco-filled lungs)

I told her that I only needed one and was already paying twice what the same sized bottle costs at Shop 'n' Save.

I told her to just forget it and I left the store with nothing. J was heartbroken that we didn't get the juice, but it wa a principal thing. Not to mention that I had already pissed away 25 valuable minutes and needed to get back home to greet E's bus.

Speaking of that... I was informed today that according to state policy, siblings of special needs children are forbidden from riding special busses. Grand. So Starting Tuesday, I'll have to walk J to his bus stop across the street and down to the corner at 8:41am, then immediately get E back home to meet the bus that arrives at out door at 8:42am.

I can see no earthly fucking reason why J can't ride the bus with E. They're going less than a mile to the same flippin' building. What the fuck difference does it make to them. It makes a world of difference to us, however.

Tonight, K and I are going out to dinner alone. We haven't been out alone in probably a year. M and S will be here in about an hour (after they go home and let out their damn dog) to watch the kids for us. Afterwards, we're going to do some shopping for K for new pants. What a night on the town! We're such party animals!

I'm exhausted. If I wasn't looking so forward to getting out tonight, I'd cancel the whole thing. I got up early and drove all the hell the way to T to the WalMart super center. Yes, there are stores here, but I like being able to get all my shopping done in one whack and not have to go from store to store. As it was, I ended up ending my shopping prematurely because the cart was so full, I couldn't fit another damn thing in it. I'll need to go back out tomorrow and get what I didn't get today. The best laid plans of mice and men...

Two things that filled my cart were a pair of pants I got marked down to $3 and a pair of shorts marked down to $1. Guess who they're for? ME! Yes, I bought something for me! Different, huh?

Well, I should go get dressed for my evening out on the town. *Snort* I won't know what to do, eating a meal without someone hooking their leg over my lap and saying, "WHATCHA EATN?? KY SOME? PWEASE! PWEASE!"

Should be cool.

last & next

new old profile notes design host