R.I.P September board

2004-10-21 at 7:34 a.m.


If you're reading this from the formerly "September 1998 moms message board" at ivillage/Parent Soup, welcome!

I feel as if our beautiful luxury home, which we've all shared and loved for more than six years, has been foreclosed upon and we're now forced to rent a room from strangers. Yes, we'll have our own room, but it's just that - a room. We'll no longer have the privacy and full house privledges we had in our "own home".

I tried to make myself at home in the new place - I truly did. I went to the new board with every intention of introducing myself and getting to know the others there. I couldn't do it. I was first overwhelmed, then I was annoyed.

One of the things I adored about our little 9-98 board, was that we were all adult enough and respectful enough of other's opinions and feelings to get along. There wasn't the cattiness and backstabbing you often find at places like that.

On the new board, I immediately saw a breech of that respect. One member had posted a poll "Who are you voting for in the presidential election?" She made it clear there were to be no personal opinions or debates. Vote only and move on. One woman, not even a citizen of our country, voiced her opinion and a ridiculous one at that.

My hands shook as I tried to remain calm and mature. I managed to leave the board without making my own opinion known. She said, "I can't vote, because I'm Canadian, but if I could, I would vote for John Kerry."

Well, there's my good news for the day - that Canadians can't vote.

She went on to say that other countries were of the same mind - they would vote for Kerry if they could. From where does she acquire this diatribe? It's also a known fact that every terrorist group on earth wants Kerry elected, as well. What does that tell you?

Kerry, Kerry, quite contrary...

My fellows September friends did a better job of keeping their opinions to themselves out of respect for others than even my family is capable of doing. It's obvious this new group can't. I don't want to frequent a group where there's anger and dispute brewing.

I miss my 9-98 board.

last & next

new old profile notes design host