Day Care Dilemma

2004-11-13 at 11:17 a.m.


I'm thinking seriously about doing home day care again. I know I've said this in the past and always find some excuse (reason??) not to, but I think the time is right. I have to do something. We're not making ends meet and it's ridiculous. We have this big new house, but can't afford to turn on the heater when it's cold. That isn't right.

I was quite successful when I did day care in the past. I filled my vacancies immediately and even had a waiting list of clients wanting to bring their children to my home. I had a great group of children/parents and enjoyed every minute of it.

That was when I lived in California...

When I moved to Missouri, things were different. I had difficulty getting spots filled. When I did, I seemed to attract nothing but losers - people who didn't pay on time, bounced checks, brought sick children or who stopped coming entirely, with no notice whatsoever.

Things are a lot different than they were then. Before, I had time to plan menus, activities, lesson plans and a cirriculum. I had the time to disinfect toys and clean the house from top to bottom on a daily basis.

Three kids and many years later, I'm terrified. Can I handle this? Can my house withstand the destruction? What if E has an "episode" in front of a parent or child? How will I handle things when the kids are out of school? Will people want to come to my home, as far away as it is? Will parents of toddlers be concerned about the open staircase that can't be gated? What about my disastrous backyard? Will parents not chose me because the yard is nothing but rocks and weeds until I can afford to put in a lawn and a fence?

I guess I need to sit down and write out the pros and cons...

PROS:

~ I have plenty of knowledge, education and hands-on experience

~ I have lesson plans made up for the first year that I could use, provided I could obtain the supplies needed, plus an awesome cirriculum designed by me

~ I have a fair assortment of toys and equipment

~ I have the space

~ I live in a growing area, near an elementary, with plenty of young children

~ It would provide playmates for the boys

~ provided I could get clients, the income would be substantial

CONS:

~ I'm not used to dragging my sorry ass out of bed early

~ I'm even less used to getting dressed before noon

~ I have a low breaking point - could I handle four or five children all melting down at once?

~ E's and J's special needs... would parents run screaming from my home if they learned about their situations?

~ School holidays/summer vacations - I would need to figure my own kids into my ratio on days when they're home. This might limit how many children I could accept into my program

~ The wear and tear on my new house... would I spend my weekends repairing drywall and refinishing wood floors?

~ The previously mentioned open staircase. I can't and won't gate it. Would it be a problem for a curious toddler? G is fine with it, but not every child would be.

~ Although I have the space, I don't have a lot of infant equipment. I have given away my cribs, play yards, bassinets and changing tables. As the children outgrow their toys, I've gotten rid of those, as well. In fact, I just sold a Little T!kes laundry center that would have been perfect to use for daycare children. Damn! Why didn't I keep it?? *Snort* Because I got damn near twice what I paid for it, that's why.

*Sigh*

I have a lot to think about.

Have a good Saturday!



last & next

new old profile notes design host