Just some stuff...

2004-02-10 at 1:53 p.m.


Courtesy of a construction worker across the street, J, age 5, has learned a new word...

Cocksucker

J repeated the word, as if to see how it felt on his tongue. Before I had a chance to express my displeasure at his use of it, he asked me if I was a cocksucker.

How does one answer this question? Should I have said, "Not as often as your dad would like me to be?"

Bad idea.

I simply said, "That is a very ugly word and I never want you to use it again."

Surprisingly, he hasn't. I plan to have a talk with the cocksucker who so freely used this term in front of my child.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Last night, K used the "self clean" feature on our oven. It spawned the most foul, stomach wrenching odor, like burning plastic. It gave me an unbelievable headache. The odor was still in the house today. K assures me that the next time we (we??) use it, it won't smell that way.

You've heard of those who "don't do windows"? Well, I don't "do" ovens.

Or windows.

Other than those two things, I really do keep a sparkling home.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I made a decorative fireplace screen yesterday out of foam core board. I've made them in the past at the old house. This one, I threw together in about 20 minutes and it shows. But it's better than looking into the charred remains of the fireplace, I think. I'll take a picture of it to share soon, nnkay?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I was thinking today... (first time for everything, right?) When I was in college, I was loaded with energy. My typical day went as follows:

4:00am - get up, shower

5:30am - begin work at health spa, answering phones and checking people in

9:00am - leave for second job

9:30am - begin work at Hallmark shop

2:30pm - leave for home

2:50pm - eat lunch, change clothes

3:00pm - leave for third job

Four nights a week, I worked until midnight, the other night, I took a class and watched Beverly Hills 90210.

Saturdays, I cleaned house and did laundry. Sundays, I did homework.

Jesus. That was 1991. Now, in 2004 or whatever the hell year it is, I barely have the energy to hold my head up.

What happened? Is it because I have three kids now? Or because of all the weight I've gained (about 50 pounds)? Or because I'm now an old woman, on the cusp of death?

I need a nap just thinking about it.



last & next

new old profile notes design host