So begins AI3...

2004-02-11 at 2:06 p.m.


As promised...

AI Commentary...

DIANA: They sure didn't look (or sing) like that when I was sixteen! I'll start off by saying, I thought Diana was the best in show of the entire evening. She has it all - an awesome voice, a great rapport with the audience, a good stage presence and she's cute as a bug. She was absolutely flawless. I was impressed.

MARQUE: In auditions, I liked Marque. I enjoyed his voice and found him to be damn good looking, but last night... he was okay, I guess. Only okay. He took a bit of an attitude with Simon at the end, which you may know from last year's commentary, I found a total turn-off. I think he'll continue on, but not too much further.

ASHLEY: What is it about this girl? She's pretty, sassy, and can sing. Soooo... why don't I like her? I can't figure it out. She does absolutely nothing for me. I thought her performance was bland and forgettable.

KATIE: I might have better things to say about her had she chosen a better song. She has a nice look about her - different, but appealing - but she just seemed so lounge-lizardess to me. Maybe if she continues, she'll choose a better song, maybe something from this century, and I'll be able to judge her better.

ERSKINE: I extend him the award for best makeover and good god did he need it. I really liked his voice in auditions - smooth and silky- but that look! Yikes! He looked as if he was scraped off of a tire after a day of off-roading. The made-over Erskine is much improved, but... I'm thinking the voice was cut along with the hair. He wasn't very strong, vocally. Maybe it's because "Open Arms" to me will forever be a Clay song. Whatever the reason, it fell flat for me. BTW... Randy, we know all about you and Journey. Be careful not to trip over the names you keep dropping. <~~ Eye roll

JENNIFER: This is another girl who has done absolutely nothing for me since day one. I'm irritated by her snotty expression and her Just!n Guar!ni hair. Her singing sounds like she's taking testosterone replacement therapy. Hear that rumbling? It's John Lennon spinning in his grave. Now look... I'm not a Beatles fan. Go ahead and send the hate mail to the email link included here on this page, but I think the Beatles are the most overrated band in history. I like nothing about them. I also don't think that John Lennon was a very good singer. However...

You simply don't touch "Imagine". You just don't. As far as I'm concerned, even if you a heavyweight like Elton, Mariah, Whitney or Clay (you knew I'd say it), you don't attempt "Imagine". It simply isn't available.

So needless to say, I wasn't impressed. The nurse-in-bondage look was unappealing, as well.

MA-TTH-EW: I can never ever remember this guy! He was in last year's auditions, as well and I can't remember a thing about him. I can't place his audition this year to save my soul. Well. Let's see! I think Ma-tth-ew is cute, in a round nosed, long teethed kind of way. His voice is reminscent of a John Mayer/Edwin McCain love child. And although it wasn't strong enough for this comeptition, I hope he does well - if not in Amercian Idol, then somewhere. He's not the best singer competing, but he has alot else to offer.

FANTASIA: In a word... overrated. Yeah, yeah... she can sing. Yeah, she's spunky and all that shit, but really. Could you sit through an entire CD of that voice before wanting to hurl something of substantial weight through the CD player? By the end of her song, my teeth were starting to itch. I've never liked (in fact, I despise) "Somethin' to Talk About". I liked her version, "Shumpfin to Talk About" even less. She'll probably go far, simply based on the fact that the judges adored her.

I did not vote. Unlike last year and the year before it. I didn't find anyone (likeclay) who reached out and grabbed me (likeclay) an said, "FALL IN LOVE WITH ME (likeclay) AND REVOLVE YOUR WORLD AROUND ME (likeclay)!!" So, I didn't, and likely will not, vote.

There you have it, AI commentary, in unprofessional, poorly articulated form. Tune in tomorrow for tonight's results.

Yikes! Sorry for all the typoes! It wouldn't let me edit!!

last & next

new old profile notes design host