Weekends suck...

2004-02-01 at 4:02 p.m.


Words can�t express what a horrible weekend I�ve had. Why is it always this way? Well, I know why, but... there�s nothing I can do about it.

All any of us did this weekend was fight. All of us. The kids were brats, K was impossible and I was impatient. I think alot of it has to do with the weather. I absolutely despise this time of year. It�s been winter for what seems like forever, the snow is black and slushy and everything is still frozen solid. The kids can�t go outside and are bored to tears. K and I are broke beyond belief, so we�re at each other�s throats. It�s cloudy and gloomy and another winter storm is brewing, although they�re downsizing it from earlier forecasts. I hope all we get is rain - and a warm rain at that - because not only have I had my fill of ice and snow, but if I have to spend another day cooped up in the house with my family, I�ll be in need of a straight jacket.

The weekend started off on a bad note. E couldn't find his collection of "bouncy balls". He collects these small rubber "super" balls, is what I think we called them as kids. I bet my childhood home has three dozen of those things in the gutter.

But I digress...

I questioned J if he knew what had happened to them, because he had gone into E's room to watch a video Friday. He denied doing anything with them. I wasn't convinced. Upon further grilling, he pointed down to the floor heating vent.

Oh, God, J... you didn't! He did. He has a horrible habit of lifting the vent covers off the floor and putting things down inside them. Despite how stern I am with him, he doesn't stop. This time, he did it with the rubber balls. I hope the house doesn't catch on fire. This set the stage for a crappy weekend for all.

Yesterday, K got the brilliant idea that we should go eagle watching. Actually, I found out later that this was an after thought. K needed to go into Illinois to do something up at the Goddamned race shop and thought I might accept it easier if he invited us along to search for the ever-elusive eagles.

I packed some drinks and snacks for the kids and we left the house. The first leg of the journey went okay, but once we arrived at the shop, it all changed. K got out of the car to go into the shop and J started screaming to go with him. I couldn�t allow him to, because the ground was muddy and slippery, it was all of about 4 degrees out and Cra!g�s shop is a living disaster area. So there I sat with three kids, one of whom is asleep, one of whom is behaving normally and the other of whom is deep in the throes of a meltdown, the first of many to come. See...

J doesn�t accept the answer no very well. I know what you�re all thinking: �If he were my son, he�d accept NO or else!� Well, that�s what I always thought, too. J has some definite issues that need to be addressed by a neurologist.

I�m worried.

It wasn�t just a �five-year-old-who-got-told-no� fit, it was downright psychotic. He screamed blood curdling screams until he was turning blue and nothing would stop him. I couldn�t console him or discipline him further, because it was as if he had completely checked out, mentally. Finally, K came back out and got into the car. J asked if we could go to McDonald�s. I had ten dollars to my name, but was in no mood to start another rage-like episode, so I told him I�d think about it. Next thing I know, K is pulling up in front of Cra!g�s house and getting out again!! I said, �What on earth are you doing now?� He told me Cra!g had just bought a new big screen TV and he wanted to go check it out.

Oh. Yes. By all means. After all, we�ve never seen a big screen TV. <~~ Insert eye roll here.

Again the fit started, because J wanted to go into the house with K. I was tempted to let him out with no coat and tell him to go ahead in, just so that I wouldn�t have to deal with it anymore.

Soon, K came to my side of the car and said, �Babe! You�ve got to go take a look at this thing! It�s great!� Perturbed as can be, I said, �I�m not going to go look at a Goddamned television. We have a screaming kid here and I just want to LEAVE.�

So we left.

We drove along the great River Road in search of eagles, but saw none. By the time we came back around where we began, all three kids had fallen asleep. We decided to stop for milkshakes at McDonald�s, when J�s radar must have gone off. He woke up and asked for a kids meal. Oh great... here we go again.

�J, we don�t have enou... �

�AAAAUUUUGGGGHHHH!!!!!! I WANT A TOY AND CHICKEN AND A KIDS MEAL NOW NOW NOW NOW NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!�

As it was, McDonalds' shake machine was down, like they always seem to be whenever I want a milkshake, so nobody got a thing. We drove back into Missouri, found a McDonald�s that did have milkshakes and started for home.

I thought.

K grabbed his cell phone and called his buddy D@ve. Without even discussing it with me, he made plans to stop at D@ve�s house on the way home to load up a remnant of carpet D@ve is giving us for our basement. Now, I know I agreed to take the carpet from him , but this was soooooo not the time for it. All I wanted to do was get home where we could all scatter out a bit away from each other.

I�m sure you can guess what happened when we got to D@ve�s house, so I�ll spare you the details. If you really want to know, see the above paragraph and substitute �D@ve� for �Cra!g�. Same damn thing. Same fit, same rage, same headache for mom. Of course, K made things soooo much better by screaming at J to stop. Yeah. Why didn�t I think of that, K. <~~ Insert remaining eye roll here.

Today hasn�t been much better, except we didn�t all go out as a family. Today was just one of those days where everything that could go wrong, has - including exploding coffee filter baskets, heavy items dropped on hardwood floors, mud tracked in onto carpet, cats scratching toddler�s noses and a pencil sharpener crashing to the floor scattering graphite shavings from here to Nebraska.

Remind me to write tomorrow about the bulldyke who got in E�s face at the library. I can�t possibly write about it now, because I�m still too fucking mad about it.

Good day.

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY, LAR-RY! 16 years ago today we met! *Mwah*



last & next

new old profile notes design host