A whole lotta nothing to say...

2004-02-27 at 11:31 a.m.


I'm in good spirits today, despite this not being a good day in history.

Last night, E fell getting out of the shower. It was a situation where at first I was angry with him for not obeying ("Step out onto the bathmat, so you don't slip on the tile... "), then sympathetic when I saw what had happened to him. He slipped sideways, causing his leg to jet out to the side. His shin hit the corner molding on the wall between the sinks and the toilet. Immediately, the wound turned black and blue and was the size of a grape. It had a big slice in it, and eventually bled. If it hadn't taken so long to bleed, I would have thought it needed stitches.

Poor guy. He cried, which is something he rarely does. He has to be in alot of pain to cry. He said this morning it felt fine. It looked alot better. Kids are so lucky - their skin is so pliable and resiliant. I bet in a week, it'll look like nothing happened.

G offered us another rough night with virtually no sleep. I think he's having night terrors, because he doesn't appear to be awake and of sound mind when he does this. He seems to enjoy hitting us, kicking us and hurling things into the walls. Then, as if coming to his senses, he grabs me around the neck in a tight hug and falls soundly asleep.

Those of you whose children don't have sleep issues, consider yourselves lucky. Despite what faces you during the day, you have a good night's sleep to look forward to. Me - I work my ass off all day with these kids, then don't even get four hours sleep. Something's got to give or Mommy's going to snap.

I feel horrible. I had offered to buy my mom and dad's plane tickets here for a visit this spring. Then I realized the money I was going to use is already spent. I keep forgetting that we had offered to buy M and S a washer and dryer for their wedding gift. We originally agreed that we all four would go shopping together and pick out a set, similar to ours and we would pay the bill. But in typical M and S fashion, they took it upon themselves to go shopping on their own and spent way more than I ever would have allowed, and handed us the bill.

K is okay with this. I'm not. Our set, which suits us fine, cost around $350. Even with delivery, I had expected to spend around $400 for theirs. The bill they handed us was for well over $600!! Can we say taken advantage of?

So, out of K's upcoming bonus check, we have to pay this debt. I'm furious, but I suppose I lead myself right into it by not being more specific. Hopefully, Southwest will still be offering their $99 fare sale, or I won't be able to afford my tickets to CA.

I suppose I could always visit M and S's washer and dryer and say, "Here's my vacation!!"

Okay, so that was uncalled for. Sorry.

I told my mom I wasn't going to be able to buy tickets for them after all. She said she wasn't going to allow me to buy their tickets anyway. But she also didn't say when they might be coming out. Hmmm...

It's supposed to be 69 wonderful degrees tomorrow! Gee, I think I'll spend it.... in front of my computer!! At least the windows will be open. One of the local meteorologists did a long-range spring forecast last night and said we're in for a rough spring, chock full of storms and severe weather. Great.

I burned the roof of my mouth yesterday on an egg roll I had made for my lunch. I didn't realize it was going to be that hot. I now have a blister in the roof of my mouth.

Can you tell I'm running out of things to say? Have a wonderful Friday!

last & next

new old profile notes design host