Saturday Stuff

2004-02-28 at 9:54 a.m.


Today is my grandmother's birthday. I forgot that until just today. I used to be the perfect little Hallmark dream customer - buying cards for every person I know, for every occasion known, and not known, not to man...

"Happy Sweetest Day!"

"Happy Grandparents Day!"

"Happy Tuesday!"

Now that I'm a mother, I can barely remember birthdays or Christmas. I think since I'm out of time and money alike, I'll have E make a pretty drawing, preferrably one without a hail of gunfire or blood shed, and send that to her a day or so late.

I'm worried about E. Yesteday, while drowning in my own tears of mirth reading Dusty's diary, I received a phone call from the school nurse telling me E had thrown up at school.

This isn't really what worries me. After he told me what passes for school lunch these days, I wasn't the least surprised to learn he had gotten sick.

What worries me is the leg injury he received the night before last. It's swollen, hideously bruised and is so painful, E cringes when you come anywhere near it. He can't even put weight on it. He's been asleep for almost 15 hours now. I don't think it's broken, or he wouldn't have been able to go to half a day at school and do what walking he did. I just hate to see my kids in pain, especially a kid who never complains about anything except my cooking.

Today is also the day, 31 years ago, the we moved into our first family home. Why on god's green earth do I remember that, when I can barely remember my own phone number. (I can, however, remember my phone number back then - 946-6523).

I need help.

I just saw a story on the AOL news page on "Decorating Do Nots". One of the crimes people commit is to put family pictures in the family room.

What kind of sick, twisted bastard could commit such a heinous act?? I shudder to think how many innocent people have been affected by this.

Sarcasm aside, if someone doesn't like the fact that I have MY family pictures in MY family room or anywhere else in MY home, for that mat-ter, they are welcome to leave MY home and kiss MY fat, white dimpled ass on their way out. The key word here is MY. Why on earth would it offend anyone to find pictures of one's family hanging in one's home??

I guess I'm out of things to say - I'm sitting here staring blankly at the screen, so that's my cue. Have a good weekend!

last & next

new old profile notes design host