Another weekend in the shitter

2004-02-08 at 4:49 p.m.


Well, another weekend has come and gone and my kids didn't kill each other, nor did I kill them. I call that a success.

Yesterday morning, we read in the newspaper that a new development in nearby St. Charles was opening. It's called "New Town", which naturally is the compliment to "Old Town", the historical community in the downtown area. New Town was voted down and vehemently opposed by residents of the city and county alike for several reasons.

One reason being the lack of infrastructure. The only roads leading to New Town are ones of the narrow, two lane variety. With a proposed 4,000 homes, this will fail to hold the volume expected, especially during the construction and sales phase.

The second reason so many people were opposed to this plan was the fact that New Town is located in a flood plain. Every ten years or so, that area is up to its proverbial ass in murky water.

They're proposing canals, fishing piers, an ampitheatre and several Mom and Pop type stores. It all sounds so sweet and cozy!

But it won't work.

What's going out of business left and right? Mom and Pop stores.

An ampitheatre? For what? Community theater? St. Charles already has an Arena for concerts and is within five miles of an even bigger concert venue across the river in St. Louis county. What makes people think they can get any draw there?

The school district that will service this New Town is in financial ruin and is substandard in its quailty of education. Maybe some taxes will improve this, but in my experience, throwing money at a school district does little to improve its quality. But who the hell am I?

For all the above reasons and dozens more I likely haven't even considered, New Town will likely be a bust.

But I digress...

It said in the paper that New Town was complete. I was curious and wanted to take a look. We all loaded up into the car and took the drive to St. Charles. We pulled up and couldn't believe our eyes! There at the end of the street, stood...

A sales office.

The sales office is complete. You could view artists' renderings of the projected Town on paper, but nothing more than the sales office was complete thus far. So we drove all the way there for fucking nothing.

J was mad as a wet hen that we didn't get out and go look inside. He screamed all the way home. Sounds like last weekend, doesn't it? When will I learn not to put that child into a car?

We stopped at Steak 'n' Shake for dinner and I waited up for SNL.

SNL is way past my old-woman bedtime. I was nodding off when they announced Clay would be performing. I took my usual spot in front of the screen and drooled and cried as I always do when I see my Clay singing to me. He looked and sounded absolutely ~* AMAZING *~

K agreed that his live performance was awesome. I had fallen asleep on the floor by the time they announced his second song, but shot right up when I heard his name again. The little skit at the end was cute, too. Trey Aiken, hehehe...

Today, I got up, sorted through 115 emails, then cleaned the house in anticipation (?) of M and S's arrival. I know it's only M and S but I stll feel the need to have the place in model home condition for them. Sort of a ... I don't know, a self-perfection conflict I have with myself. Don't mind me... I'm having a disorder.

I ran to Target to get E's new meds, since their window of availability is so limited on Sundays (1:00pm - 3:00pm). I got a few things for E's birthday, then came home. I stopped on the way to call K to see if he and the boys had eaten yet and if they wanted me to pick up lunch. S answered the phone because K was evidently on the throne. (I knew you'd want to know that.) Once he was able to get to the phone, he told me they had ordered pizza.

Later, we walked through the inventory home next door, then visited with T and D, our neighbors across the street. We walked through their house, too. It's coming along slowly and won't be ready when they were originally told. The weather has played a part in that, and so has the fact that the project manager, on whom I have an enormous crush, was fired! I'm dying to know why.

Well, this boring entry must come to an end. My kids are begging for dinner. Didn't I just give them dinner last night?

Have a good evening...

last & next

new old profile notes design host