A new grandpa for Linda?? LOL

2004-07-30 at 9:41 a.m.


Huh? I could have sworn I added an entry yesterday afternoon. Oh well - I must have closed the page before hitting "submit". It sounds like something I would do.

I was awakened this morning to a ringing phone. My mother is in KCity with my aunt, before she goes to her reunion this weekend. She found out yesterday that my crusty, old grandmother got a marriage proposal. Some old coot in "the home" asked her to marry him. She declined. He then asked her to move into his room with him! She declined that, as well. She enjoys having her own room and having her independence. She'd be a cradle robber if she had accepted. He's only 67 - 13 years her junior! It's nice to know when I'm 80 years old and in a nursing home for crusty old women that I might still have it.

We took M to his dinner at Joe's the other night. It was nice, once we moved to an outside table where G could play. He was so fussy and just wanted to run around and be obnoxious. I was ready to load him up and take him to the car when K decided to take him outside to play. For those of you unfamiliar with J0e's Cr@b Shack or L@ndry's, they have a big sandpit in front of the restaurant with a huge playground set. G was in heaven when he saw it and didn't even come back to eat his dinner. I would have been concerned about that, but I was more concerned with having a nice dinner, uninterrupted by his constant whining and flouncing.

I do kind of wish we had stuck to our original plan of buying M a gift in the $20 - $25 range. The dinner ended up being $71, something we really can't afford right now. At least tightwad S offered to pick up the tip. I let her. Oh well, I guess you only turn 22 once. Except in my case. I insist year after year that I'm only turning 22!

I think when J goes to first grade, I might just consider home day care again. Since our district only offers a part-day kindergarten, I'm not sure I would want to walk to a bus stop three times a day with a group of kids in tow. If the bus came directly to the door, like they did at our old district, I could swing it. Don't mind me - I'm thinking aloud again. I'll definitely keep it in mind.

I can't believe that on July 30th, I have my windows open! Knock on wood... we've really had a mild summer so far. I'm not complaining, mind you. Considering I have constant hot flashes and turn on the A/C when it's 62 degrees, this weather suits me just fine. I hope it stays nice for my parents' visit.

I guess that's all I had to say today. Have a good Friday!

last & next

new old profile notes design host