This House

2004-01-18 at 5:24 p.m.


Ho hum... here I sit, awaiting the close of my auctions. It's been a boring, routine weekend, here at the McC's household. Yesterday, I cleaned the house from top to bottom. It's wonderful to have a house that actually looks clean five minutes after I work my fingers to the bone to clean it. I love this house. I love the colors that I chose. The tile in the bathrooms and laundry room don't show dirt, so the place looks clean, even when it really isn't.

I love sitting in my bathtub, up to my neck in bubbles. I love the light in my bathroom, how soft and elegant it is when I shower late in the day.

I love the "new house" smell still in the air. I love the look of awe in peoples' eyes when they see it for the first time. I love that we're such a new street, we're not even on a map yet.

I love that there's a place for everything and nothing is sitting around in my way.

I even love doing laundry. I love cleaning it and seeing my pride in the reflection of the spotlessly clean counter tops and vanities.

There are some things about this house I could do without, such as the mystery thump in my bedroom after I go to bed every night. I could do without the hike up the stairs to put clothes away. I don't especially care for the soot residue left on every square inch of the house after we use the fireplace. I wish the kids would play in the playroom and not the family room, that I had intended to be child-free.

And I really don't care for the payment that I have to scrape together by February 1st. It's double what we paid at the shitbox apartment and $600 more than what we paid as a payment for our old house.

I hope I still love this place after I make that first payment and starve to death for two weeks.

last & next

new old profile notes design host