Too Old, eh? Huh? Whassat?

2004-01-24 at 9:34 a.m.


As I sit awaiting the opening of general public ticket sales on ticketmaster.com, I ponder a subject on my mind for several days now.

It was brought to my attention, ever so rudely in my chat box recently, that I am "too old to be obsessed with Clay Aiken".

Am I? Possibly. Does this concern me? Not in the least..

The following is a list of things for which I'm likely too old, but do anyway. Let's see how many of them YOU do/enjoy/partake.

~ I am too old to be obsessed with Clay Aiken

~ I am too old to sleep in kitty cat or teddy bear pajamas

~ I am too old to still eat Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Puffs

~ I am too old to watch The Wiggles

~ I am certainly too old to dance and sing along to The Wiggles

~ I am to old to wear Love's Baby Soft perfume

~ I am too old to wear velvety, satiny scrunchies in my hair

~ I am too old to crank up the stereo in my car

~ I am too old to "shake it like a Polaroid picture" while I listen to that Goddamned Outkast song that I hate myself for liking

~ I am too old to play air guitar

~ I am too old to still enjoy coloring books

~ I am too old to squeal when I hear songs that I like

~ I am too old to sit thisclose to the television and cry like a baby when I see Clay on TV

~ I am too old to have three phones in my hands, calling teeny-bopper radio stations to try to win concert tickets

~ I am too old to really really really really want a Clay Bobblehead

These are just a few of many things for which I'm likely "too old" to enjoy. But really...

WHO THE FUCK CARES?!

Is the world a worse place because I have a picture of Clay on my diary? Or because I will be standing at his show in a couple of months, screaming and pumping my fists in the air, alongside thirteen year olds?

What difference does it really make? Why do people who don't know me from the man in the moon feel the need to comment (and rudely) on my likes or dislikes?

I read plenty of diaries everyday from people my age or close to it, who feel the same way I do. I have to wonder why they aren't the target of insults from narrow minded assholes, but I am? Not that I wish the insults on them... I would defend them to the end of the earth if I ever saw comments like that directed at them.

In closing, I'll say this again. If you don't like my words, my choice of layout, my opinions or my love for Clay Aiken, please feel free to kiss my big fat white ass and go to hell while you're at it. Nnkay?

Thanks! I'M OFF TO BUY MY TICKETS!! YAYAYAYAYAY!!!!!!

last & next

new old profile notes design host