One year ago today... Clay!

2004-01-28 at 10:14 a.m.


I knew from the moment I heard Clay sing that he was a winner. When he walked out, I thought... oh Christ, another geek who thinks he can sing. When he opened his mouth, I fell to the floor. I told K, "That�s your American Idol, right there! " He agreed. Shamefully, until I remembered his name, (hard to believe there was a time when "Clay Aiken" wasn�t a household name) I referred to him as "that geeky guy".

I hang my head in shame.

I just didn�t know how else to refer to him so that people would know about whom I was speaking.

That was a year ago. One year ago today. I'll never forget the date. I'll never forget seeing "5230" taped to his skinny chest. I'll never forget hearing him say, "I, uh... ahm the Amercian Idol!" and the look of skpeticism on Simon and Randy's faces. I still remember hearing the THUD across the country - the sound of jaws dropping like bombs when he opened his mouth and sang like no one we'd ever heard. It gave me chills and I wanted more.

Thanks Clay... what a year you've given us!!

last & next

new old profile notes design host