Trying to catch up!

2004-01-04 at 3:30 p.m.


I hate falling behind in my writing. As soon as I get busy, as I have with this move, it takes me forever to pick up the pieces and start writing again. I feel discombobulated when I can't write my days' events. Between unpacking, organizing and taking care of the kids, I barely have time to perform my day to day tasks, such as laundry, cleaning and errand running.

Let me start by saying I love love love love love this house. I hope I still love it February 1, when the first payment is due. It's everything I've ever wanted in a home and more. It's huge - I can't believe how much room there is here. Including the basement, we have close to 5,500 square feet. There are times when I actually "lose" the kids because they've found a little far away corner in which to play. We don't have to wait for someone to get out of the bathroom, because there are a handful of others from which to choose. I've taken great pleasure in doing laundry in my own laundry room. I still find myself looking for the debit card machine on the wall of the laundry room or the coin slots on the machines. I absolutely do not miss anything about that apartment, least of all - the laundry facility. I have brand new appliances with more features than I ever knew existed. I have a pantry the size of Nebraska, that even with $137.58 worth of groceries, still looks bare. I have a tub so deep that when G sits in it, he can't be seen and a shower in which four people can comforatbly stand. Or sit. I have a shower seat. That will come in handy when I ever decide to shave my legs again.

The place looks pretty barren, though. Going from 1,700 square feet to 890 square feet to 5,500 (3,212 of which is non-basement), leaves me with alot of space to fill. After a couple of months, we plan to do some furniture shopping to fill up some rooms.

Every night we burn a fire in the fireplace with the gas logs and I take a bubble bath in my deep tub every other night. I'm so happy here.

The kids are still on cycle break. They go back on the 7th and 8th. They're anxious to get back and I'm anxious to unpack some more boxes without having to be at their beckon call every five minutes.

I've posted some pictures of the house, if you'd like to see them. Please remember I've yet to do alot of decorating! Here they are!

Not much else is going on that isn't house related. Today I checked out a Wal-Mart Supercenter up in Troy to check their prices. I was totally amazed at how much money I saved. It was well worth the 21.7 mile drive each way. They had my ice cream for half what I usually pay for it. That alone paid for the trip.

G is starting to talk. *Sniff* His first real word was "up". He points and says "up". His next word was spoken last night: apple. Whenever he sees a tomato, a strawberry or an apple, he identifies it as an apple. Today, he spoke his first sentence. I held up a piece of tomato at lunch and asked him, "What's this?" He said, "Das a a-poh!"

I cried.

My baby is finally talking!

I hope this was a sufficient update for you all. Thanks for continuing to check back - I see my stats were about the same as they always were. Now that I've written this, it should be easier to update the next time. I hope everyone had a safe and sane new year. My resolution is to unpack all these boxes before the kids go off to college.

Happy Sunday and I'll be back again soon.

AMERICAN IDOL III COUNTDOWN:

15 days, 3 hrs, 58 min, 29 sec

last & next

new old profile notes design host