HAPPY BIRTHDAY, JAY!

2004-09-09 at 9:52 a.m.


Today my middle baby turns six!

I can't believe it's been six years since I first met my sensitive, quirky, funny, handsome little man. I love him so.

J and I went out last night to choose the treats I would bring for his class today. He chose chocolate cupcakes with white icing and sprinkles. He actually chose cupcakes with multi-colored airbrushed icing, but I didn't think the teacher or the students would appreciate the mess that would cause. I'm kind of relieved that schools have the "no home baked treats" rule. Though it's costly to buy prebaked goodies, it's sure easier on me.

I got up early and showered. I got the kids on the bus (a much easier feat today than it was yesterday) then loaded the cupcakes to take up to school. I checked in at the office where they told me they take the treats and disperse them, not me. Hmmm... I've never heard of such a thing. I knew J would be disappointed that I didn't come to his class, so I went in through the kindergarten door (they have their own "wing") and popped my head in the classroom anyway. Fuck 'em. You only turn six once. I told him I wasn't allowed to stay but I wanted to say hello, anyway. A couple of kids shouted out, "Where are the cupcakes?" LOL

There was a mother there dropping her child off late. I could so relate to her situation, I wanted to hug her. She was standing at her car, yelling at her son to get out of the car, that he had made her late enough with his antics. The boy inside was crying and screaming that he didn't want to go to school. I could so see E in that situation and I felt for them both. When I was in the office, the secretary told the principal that Mrs. So-and-so was having difficulty getting Gary out of the car again. I presumed he was a child like E and that this had happened before.

I know it sounds awful, but I'm relieved in situations like that. I'm relieved that I'm not the only one who's been through it. And relieved that that's one thing E has never put me through. One of the few things. BC, I used to become quite irritated at the misbehaved child in stores and restaurants - the one throwing tantrums or talking back to his parents. I used to stupidly think that if that was my child, I'd make him mind. What a fantastic parent I would be someday!

Now, when children to whom I did not give birth act that way in public, I'm comforted. I find comfort in the fact that A) I don't have to concern myself with it and B) that I'm not the only one whose children act like Satan from time to time.

I have to share a funny story, but I promised I would change the names to protect the guilty....

My friend, "Donna" and her sister, "Leslie" were sitting at the computer over the weekend and "Donna" became quite gassy. She was farting like crazy. "Leslie" got the idea that they should call their other sister. They didn't have her new phone number handy, but "Leslie" thought she remembered it, so she dialed away. When the party picked up the phone, "Leslie" said, "Hi! We're just sitting here listening to "Donna" fart and thought we'd give you a call!"

There was silence at the other end, when all of a sudden, the person at the other end who was not their sister, said... "Who IS this?"

They had dialed their sister's OLD phone number!

Needless to say, after apologizing and hanging up, they burst into a fit of giggles that only prompted more farting from "Donna".

Too f'n funny!

Well, I may try to bang out a scrapbook page or two today. Wish me luck.

iiiiii *H*A*P*P*Y* *B*I*R*T*H*D*A*Y* to my J-a-m-e-s-o-n!! iiiiii

last & next

new old profile notes design host