Stupid kid!!

2004-08-18 at 8:51 a.m.


I'm so mad right now I can't see straight!

This morning, J asked me if he could go outside to watch K drive away on his way to work. I told him he could, but to stay in the yard and to come back in as soon as K drove away. Usually, when he plays outside, he's very good about staying in the yard where I can see him.

This morning, after ten or so minutes went by without him coming in, I went to check on him. Standing in the middle of the street, still in pajamas, was my stupid fucking five year old, doing a dance IN FRONT OF A TRUCK!! Luckily this construction truck driver saw J and stopped. I SCREAMED at J to get in the house. He argued with me and promised to stay in the yard. I told him no way - that he wasn't going outside again for a week. When I got him inside, I spanked him. I don't spank often, but this was warranted. Hot stoves and dancing in the street in front of oncoming traffic are examples of "When Mom Spanks".

I shudder to think what might have happened had that driver not seen J. Just yesterday, some hot rod asshole went flying through the neighborhood so fast I could barely tell what color car he had. The kids and I were getting out of the car at the time. I warned them all that THAT was precisely why it was important that they stay in the yard. Assholes like that certainly aren't going to be on the lookout for skinny little five year olds off in their own little worlds. He has a genius IQ, but plays in front of 10,000 pound vehicles.

I'm still fuming about this. What was he thinking?

last & next

new old profile notes design host