Jobs, careers and other shit...

2004-09-17 at 2:48 p.m.


I'm taking a break from cleaning to pound out a quick entry....

Kev!n is still unhappy at work. Things had calmed down for a short time, but are brewing again. A few days ago, his immediate supervisor went over his head and circumvented his authority. When he confronted her about it, she ran to the big boss. The big boss then reprimanded Kev!n like he was three years old. He feels like he can't win. He does the job he was hired to do and someone half his age without a thousandth the experience has the authority to come along and undo it all. I can see where it's driving him insane. Especially when said someone is a bleached blonde with big tits who obviously holds something over the male boss.

A few years ago, I would have told Kev!n to march in and give notice. Fuck 'em. But it's not so easy now. Now, we have one income, three growing boys and a $1600 a month mortgage payment. While his company doesn't pay much salary-wise, his benefits are amazing. He has a fully-paid company car. For the unlimited priviledge of this car, he pays $80 a month. He pays no fuel, maintanence or insurance costs. I can drive it as I wish, as long as it isn't during business hours. We can load the kids into it and drive it cross country if we choose, and GM would pay for all the fuel. Sweet enough deal.

Kev!n has an awesome life insurance policy. I stand to be quite well taken care of in the event of his untimely death. With his turning 49 this year, a policy like this would be difficult, if not impossible to find elsewhere. Had we to pay for it on our own, it would cost us a fortune. Another sweet deal.

48. That's the number of personal/vacation days Kev!n gets yearly. He seldom uses them except when I take my trips to California. What other employer on earth would offer such an amount of time?

So. Finding another job would be difficult. If he were offered $100,000 a year salary, we could compromise the benefits GM gives him. But otherwise, they're too good to lose.

So Kev!n is in a quandry and justifiably so.

I try to visualize every posible scenario for me going to work and every scenario finds me better off staying home. There aren't many openings for a high school and college drop out who can't stand on her feet, be around cigarette smoke or take orders from anyone not old enough to drive. If you see any want ads for a fat, gimpy housewife with saggy boobs, please send them my way.

There's a new Hoo-ters opening in the next town. Should I apply? The prerequisite is generous knockers. Where is it written they can't be sagging down around my waist?

Welp. Back to cleaning...

last & next

new old profile notes design host