Week Four

2004-03-03 at 9:17 a.m.


Week four, from my point of view...

SUSAN: She chose a hard song to perform. I thought it was... okay. It didn't kick my ass. Her performance was quite ordinary and forgettable. I also think she's a tad bizzarre looking, no?

JOHN P: He's another one I don't remember from auditions. I didn't like him at all. I thought his song was painful to listen to and was grateful when it ended. He was all over the place with it.

HEATHER: She was behind the beat through the whole song. She sounded karaoke-ish and had a slutty look about her. I didn't care for her at all.

I'm listing out of sequence - please forgive me. I need to save my comments about John S. for last.

JASMINE: She has a good voice and is cute as can be. I thought she was okay, but not spectacular. She had problems with pitch and was vocally immature. I think she'll go through for one reason and one reason only... the judges comments! It seems that when the judges like someone, American fails to think for itself. Whatever. It could be worse.

GEORGE: Mr. Speeding in Excess of 100mph. Hmmm.. Why is it every year, at least one contestant gets him/herself

into trouble with the law?

Anyway, I think he has a good voice, but he had horrible pitch problems last night. I suspect a little of him would go a long way.

LISA W: I DON'T LIKE HER. After watching her during group auditions, frolicking in the hotel pool, while her song mates were slaving away practicing, I lost whatever respect I may have had for her. She clearly doesn't take this seriously. As for her performance, I thought she was flat, off key and tried to compensate for her lack of ability by shouting. (NOTE: I used the word shouting in my notes before Randy and Paula said it, so don't accuse me of quoting the judges verbatim, nnkay?) I thought she flat-out sucked. Her mom booing Simon was the white trash move of the century, second only to her dad's wearing of a greasy cap. How proud she must have been to have her parents there.

TIARA: In all honestly, I didn't hear her performance well enough to post comment. I was dealing instead with a screaming two year old and a playroom's subsequent explosion.

Now. For John.

JOHN S: THAT VOICE!!!! There are no words. If I found the words, I could write volumes on that voice and what it does to me. I concede that he isn't the most exciting performer, but for Christ's sake... was Ruben?? John's performance may not have been strong and he may not go through, but I don't care and I don't think he should either. Someone ought to pull him from this competition now, offer him a recording contract and stop the judges from trying to make him something he's not.

I have to take major issue with Randy, Paula and Simon. What exactly do they want from this kid?? They first told him he was too "Rat Pack", that he needed to lose the martini bar image. Then when he attempts to stray from it, they tell him he should have stuck with his own original personality. WTF is it, guys? Choose an argument.

I think John is afuckindorable. That bright red hair, sea green eyes and freckles and of course.... that incredible spine-chilling VOICE!

I will be the first in line to buy his fist CD and every CD after. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this guy and look forward to his long career.

That's it. I don't really know or care who'll go through. I would love to see John go further, but won't be surprised if he doesn't. I doubt he could withstand belting out Journey ballads, Outkast raps or any other theme-based genres they'll be putting the contestants through in the weeks to come. I just hope he makes it big away from AI.

P.S. Hey M - it was nineteen years ago today I bought my Chevelle. Cost me a whopping $1,300! My life savings, then!



last & next

new old profile notes design host