Failing the role of adult in public...

2004-03-03 at 5:14 p.m.


K and I are actually going out to an adult dinner this weekend. I'm excited, but at the same time, nervous.

We're going with K's business associates, L and his wife C. They own an appraisal business in town and have often tried to find a position for K in their company, to no avail. I enjoy their company, unlike many of the assholes people K calls friends. There's one thing that always worries me, even though we've been out with L and C socially, many times.

I feel I bring nothing to the table.

While the other adults at the table discuss insurance, vehicles, appraisals and other aspects of business foreign to me, I sit there, nodding like a sap as if I have a clue what they're discussing. I've mentioned this to K. He suggests I join in and start a conversation of my own. Hmmm... okay, let's see:

"C, even though you're my mother's age and your children are grown and you haven't changed a diaper since they were made of cloth, how do you feel Huggies compare to Pampers?"

Or...

"L! How do you feel about the new Playhouse Disney lineup? Do you feel, as I do, that the 11:00 am time slot for the Wiggles better suited the age 2-5 demographic better than its previous timeslot of 8:00am?"

"K, isn't the theme song to Koala Brothers the shit?! It rocks!"

I doubt I could strike up an intelligent conversation about how to remove grape jelly stains from Jimmy Neutron underpants or have them join me in singing the theme song to "Zaboomafoo". If I lose enough concentration, I might find myself cutting their steak or wiping their mouths with spit on a Kleenex.

I'm a Mommy. I love it, but face it... an adult, I'm not.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I'm still without my cell phone. I paid my bill and I still have no service. I called them and was told they haven't posted my payment yet. It's been a week, for hell's sake.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today, before retrieving my oldest child from school, I withdrew money I had alotted for important things, such as utilities, and bought myself a Starbucks. I haven't had one in months. Rather than purchase my usual Mocha Valencia, I elected to try the Toffee Nut Latte.

It smelt s'good, I near soiled muhself!

It tasted even better. I need to splurge like that more often. Coffee is one of lifes simple pleasures. A $4.00 one, but a pleasure nonetheless.

last & next

new old profile notes design host