All the News...

2004-03-07 at 8:13 a.m.


I hate falling behind in my writing, then trying to catch up on all there is going on.

Let's see... Thursday night, I took E to his Book Fair at school. For the first time, I was confronted by a parent regarding our living out of the district. I was caught off guard, but managed to keep my cool about it. I just explained that E would be changing schools after the school year was over, but I wanted him to finish the year at FH. She commented that it was nice that they let us do that. I didn't tell her that "they" were unaware of where we lived. I changed the subject and hoped it dropped.

A little while later, I saw a lady I recognized immediately. I went to school with her from kindergarten to ninth grade. She was working at E's school as a janitor. I asked E if he knew her name, even though I had no doubt whatsoever who she was. He said her name was Tammy. Yep, I knew that! Tammy G was the weirdest little girl. She used to apply a thin sheet of Elmer's glue to her left arm, let it air dry, then peel it off throughout the day and eat it. Her very own "fruit leather" type of snack, I guess. She also used to eat her boogers, which seems downright normal compared to eating paste.

E told me I should tell her hello, but I couldn't. As with a lot of kids who were "different" I didn't treat Tammy very well back then. In third grade, I used to pretend that I wanted to play with her, only so Lisa L and I could taunt and torment her. What a horrible child I was.

Anyway, I bought E two Pokem0n books and a G00sebumps book. I bought a Cliford board book for G and a Sagwa book for J. Naturally, G wanted both books when I brought them home. My kids have this newfound fascination for Sagwa lately.

I went straight to bed that night, because I was feeling awful. My throat hurt so bad and my glands were swollen.

Friday, I asked K if he could stay home from work and help me with the kids. He said he'd see, but then went off to work as always. Asshole. Later I called and I asked him if he could come home early instead. He picked E up at school, (and was late in getting there, so E had to sit around for twenty minutes) so he ended up being home at 5:00pm, instead of 6:00pm. Way to help out, K. <~~ Sarcasm ~~>

Yesterday, I got up early and went grocery shopping. I came home to do some cleaning since K's friends were planning on coming over tonight. I think I overdid it, because I feel worse today. We're cancelling dinner with them tonight. In addition to my feeling bad still, we really can't afford it. I did buy my plane tickets and probably shouldn't have. K's bonus check was taxed so much that I'm now hoping and praying that the house payment clears. I guess I'll be putting my soul on ebay again this weekend in hopes up earning some money to cover it.

Last night, we had a blackout throughout the neigborhood. The power went out around 6:30pm and didn't come back on until 11:00pm!! The kids were terrified and confused (even the eight year old), so I fumbled around in the dark for their pajamas and made them little makeshift beds in front of the fireplace, our only source of light. We fell asleep in the family room until 11:00pm, when everything came back on. E immediately shot off the couch and went up to his room, so he could sleep with his TV on. I put the little ones to bed and went upstairs to toss and turn. I slept like shit all night. I still haven't heard why the power went out and for so long.

My grandmother, the not-so-nice one, was sitting in her apartment a few nights ago, when she heard a sound like a gunshot. Upon further inspection, she discovered a bullet in her dining room wall. Luckily, she wasn't sitting in her dining room at the time, only because her dining room furniture was recently ruined by the upstairs neighbor's apartment flooding. She's making plans to leave her dumpy apartment and I think this may light a fire under her ass to do so.

My other grandmother, the one who just had a birthday, suffered a stroke earlier this week. She's doing okay and out of danger, but still isn't able to speak. My parents may be coming out to see her, but it's all still up in the air.

I guess that's all the news for now. I'm off to place some auction. Have a good weekend!

last & next

new old profile notes design host