NO SOLICITING - GO AWAY!

2004-03-19 at 9:53 a.m.


I should be cleaning, but as you can see... I'm not. I have alot of bitching to do and I can't hold it in any longer.

There are some things that are really pissing me off lately.

I never thought I would be like all those rickety old farts in my childhood neighborhood ~ those who sat on their front porches, scowling all day, hollering at kids who dared to step foot on their property and who had "No soliciting" signs posted on their doors.

I'm becoming one of those people.

I'm growing weary of the daily solicitation. It never fails that when I'm engrossed in something - like laundry, the computer or the ever-elusive rest, someone rings my damn doorbell. Yesterday it happened again. I had just plopped my sore self onto the bed for a much needed, albeit short, rest.

*Ding Dong*

Christ. Why can't people leave me alone? As I've mentioned in the past, if it were up to me, I wouldn't answer the door unless I was expecting someone, but my kids let it be known that we are indeed, home and available to answer doors.

I discovered after limping and staggering down the stairs, that this time it was a girl, in her early 20s, sporting jeans, a t-shirt and a mullet. Her speech was so familiar to me, I could have quoted it, verbatim, right along with her.

"Hi! I'm sorry to bother you... I'm from the decorating company that works for the builder and we just finished up a big project with them. We have lots of decor left over and wondered if you'd be interested.... blah blah blah."

Let's disect this, shall we? First of all, she wasn't sorry to bother me. If she was sorry to bother me, she wouldn't have bothered me. She was indeed happy to bother me, because she thought she could get her damn hands in my pockets.

Second of all... I am convinced beyond the shadow of a doubt that she in fact does NOT work for the decorating company that designs the model homes here in the neighborhood. This is a reputable builder. They wouldn't permit their designers to continually go door to door and bother their cusotmers.

I have been in the design business "outskirts". When I was an interior design major in college, we worked side by side with many designers. Never in the history of time, have they sent trailer trash representatives to go door to door selling "leftovers" out of the back of an '89 Acclaim with the front fender held on with duct tape.

Designers make a fortune. They don't need to resort to such tactics.

Additionally, this is time number FOUR in the not quite three months I've lived here, that I've had to run these people off of my porch.

I told her, mat-ter-of-factly that I am tired of being interrupted in my day to day routine to tell them once again that I am not and never will be interested in their scam. I asked her to PLEASE STOP coming to my door and to inform everyone else in the "company" to stop coming to my door, as well.

I hate being rude to people, but Jesus Christ. It is so incredibly invasive to have to continually stop what I'm doing to tell people I'm not interested in their sales pitch.

Okay, there was other shit that has me pissed off, but I spent more time on this than I wanted to.

More complaining later...

last & next

new old profile notes design host