Two winners

2003-05-22 at 5:53 a.m.


Linda writes:

Because there isn't really much more to say, I'm going to copy and paste the entry from my regular diary. Sorry for my lack of originality today.

I'm not as upset as I thought I'd be. I didn't even cry. I punched the couch a few times and spoke a few choice words of profanity... but I really don't have much to be upset about.

I think I knew all along Ruben would "win". But really, what does it all mean? He and Clay both have recording contracts. They're both (as well as the other eight finalists) touring. And who has the number one selling single on amazon.com, two weeks before its release date?

Clay, not Ruben.

If there is a god, and you all know how I feel about that... I think he has better and bigger plans for our beautiful boy Clay. I think Clay's true calling in this life is his work with children. I think American Idol was simply a journey for showing the world his amazing talent. In the eyes of autistic children and their parents, he's the Idol. His singing ability, his gorgeous green eyes, his boy~next~door freckles and his tendency to make 36 year old housewives drool and collapse in front of their TVs every week is just icing on a much bigger cake.

I won't begrudge Ruben his moment. I won't demand a recount. I won't forever wonder if there were any hanging chads in the state of Florida that Ruben supposedly "took". (How could Ruben take Florida with Sommer living there? Hehehe... I concede.

I do have to wonder if Clay will inherit the title when Ruben collapses and suffers a massive heart attack. I stood in the front row at the American Idols live show last year. I seriously doubt Ruben can handle the amount of physical activity involved. They may have to rewrite some more sedentary moves for the big guy.

No offense to Ruben or big guys in general (have you seen my husband?) but let's be realistic here.

Thank you Clay, for gracing my TV with your glorious presence every TuesClay and WednesClay nights. (Whatever will I do with my T and W nights now?) Thank you for the music, the smile and for wanting to make a difference in the lives of children much like my own. Maybe one day, my kids will be fortunate enough to have you in their lives. I don't doubt it would make as wonderful an impact on them as your voice has made on their starstruck Mama.

Congratulations, Ruben... but Clay is still MY Idol!

UPDATE! I will now be sitting in the third row at the American Idol concert! Woo-Hoo!

last & next

new old profile notes design host