High and Lowlights of the Season

2003-05-23 at 9:08 a.m.


L writes: (Stacey, where have you been? Write in this diary, dammit!)

I wanted to share some of my favorite moments from the 2003 American Idol season. They are as follows:

The auditions. I always love seeing people disagree with the judges on whether or not they have talent. Everyone seems to think they�re the next Mariah Carey or Elton John. I loved the one guy who told Kristin Holt about Simon dissing him, then he said, "I�m mad as hell... " For some reason, it just cracked me up.

I loved it when a four year old boy came out to audition, for fun and laughs. He sang better than alot of the top 32 finalists. Simon told him, "I didn�t like it." Afterwards, the little guy was being interviewed and he said, "Paula said I was good, the brown guy said I was good, but that Caucasian?? He said he didn�t like it!" Adorable!

I knew from the moment I heard Clay sing that he was a winner. When he walked out, I thought... oh Christ, another geek who thinks he can sing. When he opened his mouth, I fell to the floor. I told K, "That�s your American Idol, right there! " He agreed. Shamefully, until I remembered his name, (hard to believe there was a time when "Clay Aiken" wasn�t a household name) I referred to him as "that geeky guy". I hang my head in shame. I just didn�t know how else to refer to him so that people would know about whom I was speaking.

I loved seeing Corey get his just rewards. From the night he went out partying during the finals, I lost whatever respect I had for him. That he made the final cut, appalled me. I never liked his voice or appearance. I thought he should have been eliminated from the beginning when he chose getting inhebriated over rehearsing for what could have been the break of a lifetime for him. It showed his lack of dedication to this opportunity. I was glad when they aced him.

I love watching the transformation that Clay underwent. I loved hearing him sing every week. He got better and better with every performance. I got chills. I cried. I swooned. I wanted more.

I loved that people who weren�t model perfect or size 5�s were being voted in because of their ability.

I was stunned when Clay didn�t make the final cut, but rejuventated (and not the least bit surprised) when he was the viewer�s wild card choice, by a landslide. The look of surprise, relief and joy on his face, still makes my heart melt.

I love how Clay made me forget all about Justin whats~his~name from last year. After hearing Clay�s professionalism, I realize now what a mediocre singer Justin really is. Don�t get me wrong, I still like Justin and enjoy his singing, but face it... he and Clay are a universe apart, talent~wise.

I sat in suspense every week hoping against hope, that Clay was safe for another week. Funny, how he was never one of the bottom vote~getters, but lost the competition to someone who was. Hmmmm...

I loved trying to decipher Paula�s incoherent babble all season. I loved seeing Simon flash a rare smile. But I could have done without the "dawg dude man did your thang" crap from Randy.

I loved the hokey "dream" of Simon�s whereby he gave Paula the kiss of a lifetime. Lucky Paula! Wow, I�m seeing Simon in a new light, eh?

The more I hear and see Kelly Clarkson, the less I like her and realize that Tamyra should have won last year�s competition. Kelly looked like she was heading off to a sock hop the other night with her big extension~happy ponytail. I thought she sounded awful, especially during the "One Voice" performance. Clay and Ruben sang it well... Kelly sounded like a top 32 reject. I also think "Miss Independant" is the worst song I�ve ever heard in my life.

I love and adore how, due to Ryan Seacrest�s stupidity, Clay knew before the announcement was made, that Ruben had won, but remained unknowing for the sake of everyone else�s suspense. True professionalism and compassion from my buttercup!

I love it when Ruben told Clay he loved him and Clay said the same in return. How totally sweet! I melted!

I loved it when Ruben�s mom and Clay�s mom hugged each other after the announcement was made. It showed true spirit and love that there was no contempt for one another and they each were truly happy for each other and each other�s child. It was fucking awesome.

I look so forward to the next season of American Idol, but I know there won�t be anyone who has impacted me the way Clay has. Not only for the voice that haunts me, but for the man he is.



last & next

new old profile notes design host