Getting Down to the Wire...

2003-05-07 at 7:08 a.m.


Linda writes:

After tonight, there'll be three. I can't believe the season is almost over! What on earth will I do with my Tuesdays and Wednesdays after that?!

Anyway, here's my take on the show...

JOSHUA ~ His version of "Jive Talkin", in my opinion, was sickening. He couldn't hit the low notes and sounded as if he was mocking then entire song. If I were Robin Gibb, I would've shot him. I can't believe the judges were the least bit impressed with it. Josh redeemed himself with his version of "To Love Somebody", which although nowhere near as incredible as Clay's, was damn good. I think Josh will hang on another week. Fair or not, I think he'll be there next week.

KIMBERLEY ~ I thought both her performances were weak. I thought "I Just Want to be Your Everything" was a horrible song choice for her. It's too high pitched and too "disco" a song for her. This was my favorite song, when sung by Andy Gibb, when I was 11 (the year Clay was born!!). I thought she had a chance to make it up to me with "Emotion", originally performed by Samantha Sang. I thought she blew it again. She sounded weak and uneventful. I agree completely with Simon. I predict Kimberley will GO this week.

RUBEN ~ My commentary about Ruben is about as predictible as Ruben himself.

Eh...

I just find him boring. He was pretty good, the song choices were okay, and he did okay with them.

Eh...nothing special. I am becoming disgusted with the love affair Randy seems to have for him. Is it because he too, is a huge black guy? Randy practically sucks Ruben's dick every week. It's getting old.

If I could digress a bit, Paula's comments last night were exceptionally sickening. They were all so saccharin, I wanted to puke. "You make me feel warm and fuzzy inside."

~* BLUUUUUHHHGG PPPFFFTTUI *~

Pardon me while I clean vomit off my keyboard.

CLAY ~ His first performance was extraordinary. I agree that it was one of the best I've heard anywhere, anytime. "To Love Somebody" was the perfect song choice for him. It's as if it was written solely for him. I thought it sealed his fate for becoming the next American Idol. Then...

"Grease"

Omg. As soon as I heard what song he was doing, I screamed, "NOOOOOOOO!!!" Why oh why didn't he choose another power ballad? I would rather hear Simon say that he was one dimensional and predictible than to hear what he said.

"That was absolutley horrible ~ everything about it was dreadful."

I can see why Simon said it. Don't get me wrong... I think Clay was adorable and sang the song well, but I can see why Simon had the opinion he did. It was not the right song for Clay, at all. I think that this late in the game, Clay shouldn't be taking chances like that. He should stick with things that yield the judges' praise, simply because I think too many people let the judges' comments influence their voting.

I called non~stop for the two hours and only managed to get through 78 times. (The year Clay was born! It's a good sign!) I take the constant busy signals as a sign that Clay was getting deluged with votes. I hope! Stacey got through 55 times.

Well, tune in tonight, fans and keep those fingers crossed for Clay's safe return next week!



last & next

new old profile notes design host