Love Thy Neighbor

2004-07-22 at 10:27 a.m.


Of all the things I love about my new home, what I love best are the neighbors. Everywhere I've ever lived, I've had problems with my neighbors.

There were the people who meausred our lawn and reminded us (rudely) everytime they thought it should be cut. These same people turned me, at age 12, in to DFS for not playing with their 6 year old daughter.

There was the Japanese family whose phone rang, non-stop, 24 hours a day. When we approached them about it, we were scolded in a foreign tongue. (Wish I had known you then, Deej - you could have translated!)

Then there was the family whose daughter ran over our cat because he kept going into their yard.

We had drug dealers across the street. When we, their neighbors, hosted a Neighborhood Watch meeting to discuss our options to oust this family, they robbed everyone's house.

Then we had the cop who would draw his gun at anyone he didn't recognize who would come to visit us. (Okay, so that was a cool quality in a neighbor. My brother still tells the story of how he nearly soiled himself when Rick put a gun to his temple!)

But then Rick's attack dog came into my yard and ate Tuffy, our beloved kitty, who lay sleeping in his own backyard. In that same house, the old battleaxe next to us on the other side came to our door in the middle of the night, screaming at us to turn off the light shining in her window. Hard as we tried, we simply couldn't put out THE MOON.

Then we had the family of six living in the two bedroom townhome whose walls we shared, who did nothing but run, jump, stomp and scream 24/7.

In our last house, we had Chris. I won't even go into Chris, but if you know me at all, you know all Chris put us through.

Now we have T and D. When T moved in across the street, he told my boys he would make them ice cream when they got settled. Well, as people always do, they got busy and it slipped their minds. It happens to me all the time. J reminded him a few times, then he eventually forgot it as well.

This morning, T showed up at our door with...

A BRAND NEW BLACK AND DECKER ARCTIC FREEZE ICE CREAM MAKER FOR THE BOYS!!!

Can you BELIEVE that? I can't believe how thoughtful and generous that was. He said he felt bad that he had forgotten to make them ice cream, so now they boys could make ice cream whenever they wanted.

*Sniff*

Finally, we have neighbors like I've always dreamed of having.



last & next

new old profile notes design host