Thankful for what?

2003-11-13 at 8:55 a.m.


We've decided to do absolutely nothing for Thanksgiving and I couldn't be happier about it. Every year, I agonize over what to do... should we cook? Should we go out? Should I invite my grandmothers? This year, we plan to go to Lee's Fried Chicken, buy a family sized meal to bring home and enjoy the holiday alone.

Cooking for just the five of us seemed pointless. Why slave over a hot stove all day to cook "traditional" foods, most of which the kids would refuse, all for the sake of having what you're "supposed to have" on Thanksgiving? No thanks.

Going out is also alot of work. You know from past entries that taking my kids out to restaurants is risky business. I'd have to dress them up, pack sippy cups, snacks to keep them appeased, toys to keep them amused and spare clothes in the event of an accident. All so they can scream, fight, fuss, run around and embarrass the hell out of me. Plus, I would get to pay $18.95 per person for the privledge. No thanks.

I always feel guilty for not including my family in my Thanksgiving plans. Actually, the only family I have nearby are my grandmothers. One grandmother, the one I visited recently, is legally blind and can't get anywhere on her own. Coming to see me would involve my aunt, who lives in KCity, driving clear across the state to pick her up and bringing her to me. I can only imagine her mood after being trapped in a car all day. No thanks.

My other grandmother lives near the aforementioned grandmother. If I were to invite her, she would most likely ask my uncle to accompany her, since she doesn't like to drive long distances. I have nothing against my uncle, but sometimes when he's around, I feel like I have four kids. He's 50 going on 12. The last time I invited them to Thanksgiving dinner, about ten years ago, he brought along a Game Boy, which he played at the dinner table and sulked about how my food wasn't salty enough. Another downside to inviting her, is that if my other grandmother caught wind of it, she'd be furious. She's so jealous, it's ridiculous. No thanks.

Then there's M. Last year, S asked what our plans were for Thanksgiving. I told her I hadn't made any. We agreed we'd have them over and either go out or they would bring over food to cook at our house (her suggestion.) I was fine with it. The day before the holiday, when we hadn't heard from them, we called to inquire as to their plans. S snottily replied, "Well, L never called me, so we're having dinner with my aunt and mom!" Soooooooo... this is now my fault for not calling her. I thought we had plans. Perhaps the details had not yet been specified, but the fact that we were spending the day together was concrete. I don't begrudge S spending time with her family, but understand something... when M was a child, his mother denied us access to him for every holiday. She refused to "allow" us to see him for years. Last year was the first year he was on his own and could make his own decision about where to spend Thanksgiving and other holidays. Pardon us all to hell for assuming we could actually see him for the first time in years.

Besides, S has gotten to see her family every weekend for her entire life. Must they monopolize Thanksgiving, as well? Apparently. She and M even lived with them for three months when he first moved to Missouri (after he told us he'd be living with us). This year, we're not even asking. Obviously, his being pussy whipped will prevent us from seeing M again this year, so we're not even going to attempt a union. No thanks.

"My Family... putting the 'fun' in dysfunctional for over 40 years!"

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

House update: we have garage doors and a fireplace!

I'm wearing: pink leggings and a big pink blouse

I'm listening to: "Bright Lights" by Matchbox 20

I'm eating/drinking: nothing yet - I need to get some breakfast!

Current weather conditions in St. Charles, MO: sunny and cold - 31 degrees

last & next

new old profile notes design host