Too protective?

2003-11-19 at 11:00 a.m.


I think I've found one advantage to living in this dump of an apartment. One and only one...

I don't have to let the kids go outside.

They know we don't have a "yard" and that we're on a busy street and therefore, they don't ask if they can go out. At our old house, until we built our fence and deck, I seldom let E go out and never let J or G go out, even with me acompanying them.

Yes, I'm one of those anal, overprotective mothers. I always said that when I had children, I would allow them to be kids. I would teach them to be street-smart, then let them out to play to their heart's content.

Then I actually had kids. I couldn't do it.

I can't bear the thought of someone taking one of my kids. I can't bear the thought of one of my children living the same nightmare that Ad@m W@lsh did 22 years ago. I also wouldn't be able to live with myself if any of my boys were molested. I live with haunting memories of a violent and brutal attack and I wouldn't wish them on anyone, especially my beautiful boys.

I used to see kids in my old neighborhood, younger than G, who had free reign of our street. Kids who weren't even potty trained, were allowed to cross streets and roam the neighborhood. I shudder at the thought! What's to stop that child from wandering in front of a car? Or out of the neighborhood entirely? What defenses would they child have against someone snatching him/her up and driving away?

After we move, I'll once again have to face this dilemma. Do I let the kids go out? E is just now getting to the point where I can trust him to stay where he's told and come back when I ask. Our new home will be surrounded by woods and lakes. I hope I can trust him to stay away from them. Until we get our yard fenced, J and G will be indoor kids. Oh, I might take them out back on occasion, until the first time they run away from me to the front yard. Then it'll be Playroom City, Sweeties!

I just can't take chances with my babies. I love them far too much. And know this... if anyone so much as entertains a thought of touching a hair on any of my kids' heads... I'll spend the rest of my life in prison for a heinous murder. So there.

last & next

new old profile notes design host