My Trip Volume IV

2003-11-02 at 6:25 a.m.


I'm here - I haven't fallen off the face of the earth. I have so much catching up to do. I still have my trip details to recap (if not for your entertainment, then at least for my own recollection). I also have the event that tragically made me a mother-in-law a decade or two before my time, about which to write. Where shall I begin?

How about here...

SUNDAY, OCTOBER 19th:

I got up early this morning, after sleeping like a stone last night. I vaguely recall mom coming into the guest room to play her computer game. I remember sitting up and accusing her of stealing my milkshake. I told her I sat it down on the suitcase and now it was gone.... but she was there. Hmmmm... what else could I think?

When I woke up, she asked me if a milkshake was the star of my dream. We had a good laugh at how unreasonable I can be when awakened from a sound sleep.

After a cup of coffee or two, we drove up to Ventura County. I had made 10:30am reservations for brunch at the Lobster Trap. They have the most incredible brunch I've ever seen. We were seated by the window and had a beautiful view of the harbor. We watched people taking their boats out for the day, as it was a perfect day for sailing. I wish I had remembered to bring my camera. The view out the window was almost as good as the view of the buffet table!

After we ate, mom and I went shopping. I had told Lar-ry we might stop by the car show where he was working today, but I thought mom might get bored and I knew I'd see him plenty this week.

Dad came up later and checked into the condo. (We didn't do it earlier, because it wasn't available until 3:00pm). Tonight we went to dinner at Fresh Choice, a soup~salad~pasta bar. It was great, as usual. On the way home, we stopped at a grocery store for some things. Like the grocery workers in Missouri, their's are also on strike. As we entered and exited the store, we were harrassed by locked out employees. I have very strong opinions about this strike and the reasons for which they're striking. I've never supported unions or striking, and I had no difficulty whatsoever crossing a picketline. In fact, I enjoyed it immensely. My mom said that at a store near her house the other day, a strking worker got in her face. I wish I had been there to see it ~ he wouldn't have an unbroken limb left with which to hold his stupid sign. I guess she took care of herself, though. She looked him in the eye and said, "Fuck you!"

I just love my mom...

~~ > End entry < ~~

It's me again... I'll write later about the weddin' (a-hyuck!). Suffice it to say, I'm officially a mother-in-law. Let's just hope the word "grandmother" doesn't adorn this site any time soon.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

New house developments: driveway poured, front porch poured, roof over porch complete, insulation in, wiring in

I'm wearing: pink t-shirt, pink Old Navy jammie bottoms

I'm listening to: G giving me loud kisses on my arm

I'm eating/drinking: weak coffee

Current weather conditions in St. Charles, MO: clear and 50 degrees



last & next

new old profile notes design host