Damn kids...

2003-11-20 at 8:28 a.m.


Just when I write a sappy, lovey-dovey entry about my children, they turn rotten and make me want to hand them over to a stranger on the street. Preferrably a violent one. Okay, I don't really mean that.

Everything was fine with them until I left to pick E up from school. Something about E, the presence of E or the idea of E's impending presence, turns J and G into satanic animals from Hell. Well behaved all day, J is now sitting in his car seat screaming about wanting to play with my CDs. Evidently, when I was vacationing, K allowed J to play with my CDs. Ironic... he read me the riot act when I allowed the boys to take a leaf into the car (I thought the pretty fall colors would keep them subdued for the duration of the car trip). K was afraid the kids would crumble the leaf and make vacuuming inevitable. But scratching, licking and breaking $15 CDs in two is acceptable...

Oh brother...

So anyway, J wanted my over-the-visor CD holder, complete with CDs as a source of entertainment. I told him no and he went pyscho on me.

G, experimenting with his own brand of psycho, was screaming in his seat for reasons still unknown to me. I'd like to think he's suffering from withdrawls as a result of the DVD player going to electronic Heaven, but he actually began his car-time fussiness prior to the DVD player's ultimate demise.

I personally think my kids are in cahoots to see me to an early grave. E got in the car to find his two brothers deep in the throes of rage and woe. Naturally, he took this opportunity and ran with it.

"Taunt, terrorize, taunt, torture and taunt!" says E

"AGGGGGHHHHHHH!!!" says J and G

This is what I dealt with all the way home. Now, I have a very small attention span to begin with. Add three screaming psychos in the back seats and I'm a full-fledged basket case by the time I reach my destination. The boys were not the only ones E taunted. After using a few choice words of profanity at me, E was warned that I'd about reached my breaking point and he'd better not push me any further. His reply?

"Yeah, yeah, whatever. Jesus Christ!"

That did it. I took out the CD that he had requested we hear, and told him it was gone for the rest of our journey home. He proceeded to have a nifty little ol' rage. Screaming, he got out of his car seat and started pelting me with toys and books as I drove down the highway. I have a slice on the back of my arm as proof. (This, courtesy of the Elmo cell phone... )

As a result, E lost dessert, bedtime stories and my playing games with him for the evening. I know this may sound like a lax punishment, but I don't know how else to deal with this. Later he told me how sorry he was. Hmph.

I take this as consolation... if any of my kids were kidnapped, they'd likely pay me a ransom to take them back.

________________________________

In "house" news, we have siding! I wanted to check it as soon as it went up to make sure it was the right color. It is. The color is called "Island Pearl", which is a fancy-assed way of saying "off white". They were enclosing the soffits and fascia while I was there, too. Our old house didn't have enclosed soffits and as a result, half the bird population in the county took up residence in our attic. Every spring, a new crop of baby birds were born. The little bastards didn't even offer to pay rent.

Terry, the building manager walked me through and showed me some type of error they made on the garage floor. In order to fix it and have the home be up to code, they'll have to build a four inch high step leading from the door in the hall in the kitchen to the garage. I can only imagine how many times I'll trip over that. But such is life.

He told me that the siding will be done today, the trim will go on later this week and the carpet will go down December 10th. I so 'cited!!! Or should I say... "sided"! Hehehehe...

_______________________________

Well, I need to go reply to the 22 emails I got last night. Shit, I take one evening away from the computer and my inbox fills up, mostly with crap, I'm sure. Later!

________________________________

TEN days until... you know!

I'm wearing: black t-shirt, black leggings and a denim blouse

I'm listening to: the Sesame Street theme song

I'm eating/drinking: coffee. G plopped a Pop Tart down in front of me, but I doubt I could stomach it

Current weather conditions in St. Charles, MO: sunny and WARM! On its way to 75 today! IN NOVEMBER!?!

last & next

new old profile notes design host