Don't touch my laundry, eh?

2003-11-22 at 7:52 a.m.


I did something weird the other day and I can't figure out why. I bit all my nails off. I was a nail biter as a kid, but I've long since outgrown it. My nails have always been weak and break easily. I'm always getting jagged edges that drive me insane. Because I'm too stupid and scatterbrained to remember to put emery (emory?) boards in my car, or remember that I have a nifty little smiley face emery board on my keychain... I end up "filing" the jagged edge with my teeth.

I know. Bad idea.

Once I've gnawed the nail down, I guess I still have some unconscious oral fixation to satisfy (hehehehe... where's Clay when I need him) so I end up gnawing down all my nails without even realizing I've done so. I was waiting for J's teacher to bring him to the car and I became aware of a pain in my fingertips. I looked down at my hands and said, "Oh shit... "

So now I'm very self-conscious about how nasty my hands look. When K says, "How about a back scratch?" I have to say, "Sorry pal!" This reminds me of when I used to play the guitar. After I would trim my nails (or bite them), then press my fingers along the steel strings, it would hurt like all hell. I hope I can keep from biting them again.

__________________________________

Now another adventure in the never-ending saga known as "Perils in the S_______ Apartments Laundry Room"...

I started three loads of darks last night, then came back to the apartment to wait for them to launder thenselves into april freshness. I went back about half an hour later, to find one load sitting, wet, atop one of the machines. I got pissed. Someone had obviously taken my clothing out before the spin cycle ended so they could have the machine I was using. This is what I assumed, anyhow. I grumbled to myself a bit, then proceeded with the rest of my wash. A lady who had been sitting on the folding table reading her mail, came up and asked if that was my clothing. I told her it was. She apologized and said that she accidently started the machine before she saw that there were clothes in there. I was still quite pissed and reluctant to accept her apology. This isn't the first time someone has handled my clothing. Recently someone needed a dryer I was using, so they took my stuff out and set it on the floor to wrinkle and get dirtier than they were before, dammit. Then another time, someone took my clothes out of a dryer, but was kind enough to fold them for me. (Naturally, it was a load of my big ol' granny panties and bras... ) But I digress...

I'm just getting a bit tired of people handling my shit, ya know? So when this lady explained what she had done, it was the straw the broke the camel's back. She left to go to the lounge area, and I grumbled some more, under my breath, about how it would have been nice if she offered to pay to dry these, considering it would take three times as long to dry because of her stupidity. Just then, she came back in and offered to pay to dry them. I told her, no thanks, that it was an accident and that I understood. She was so nice and I had been so nasty to her. I feel so bad about that now. As I left, I apologized that I was so rude. I told her that I was just having a bad day (rotten kids, moronic husbands... ). She apologized and said she hoped she didn't add to it. I'm sure she thinks I'm just a big ole BITCH. (No comments, please!)

I don't know what's wrong with me sometimes. I get mad when I shouldn't and don't get mad when I should. I suck!

________________________________

We got a notice on our door from the management that since we're now on a month to month lease, our rent has gone from $810 a month to $835. It's gone from ridiculous to outrageous. At least it's only for one month.

__________________________________

M and S bought a house. It's in White Trashville Tro-y, which is about 30 miles from here. It seems like a cute little house. Since they didn't listen to damn thing we said about the area, the builder or the house, I'm glad they at least listened to us about the financing. I mean... I don't profess to know a damn thing about anything, but the house we're building will be our third, so maybe as far as financing goes, we do know just a little bit. There's is being built also, and will be complete mid-February sometime. Our wedding gift to them was a new washer and dryer, which they chose a few days ago. We got off cheap, I think. They found a set they like for $389! Woo-hoo!

_______________________________

I guess I should extract my fat ass from this chair and go shower. We're going up to the house today - K hasn't seen it yet with siding. He'll shit when he sees it. I'll take pics. Of the house, that is, not of K shitting when he sees it. Hehehe...

Have a good weekend!

last & next

new old profile notes design host