Drowning in a pool of PUKE!

2003-11-25 at 2:32 p.m.


Oh the best laid plans of mice and men... and, uh... however else the saying goes. That�s the kind of day I�m having today. Today was originally going to be an extraordinarily busy day for us. So busy in fact, that I suggested K take the day off work.

The original plan was this: get up at a decent hour, get ourselves and the kids ready to go, load everyone up in the car, take E to school, take J and G to the hourly day care, go to the lighting company and choose the lighting for the new house (something we should have done MONTHS ago), pick the kids up from day care, take J to school, move car seats around, have K go to E�s school and take G with him to attend E�s T-giving party while I go to J�s T-giving party, then I would bring J home, while K brought E and G home. Whew.

Instead... we got up at an indecent hour, rushed around to get the kids ready to go, I remained unshowered and still in jammies, K showered and got E ready to go, while I cleaned up after G puking all over the dining room carpet. K took E to school while I mopped up yet more puke in the family room.

Just when I would get G, myself the the floors cleaned up from one round of barf-o-rama, he would throw up again. This being the very first time in his two years that he�s ever thrown up, he was scared and confused. So when it hit, he ran around the room, spraying it everywhere. One time, he even puked right on my face. My poor little sweet baby.

So the new plan is as follows... E is at school. K went to the lighting place, hopefully choosing lighting that I can live with for years to come and not whore-house chandeliers or K-Mart looking jelly-jar fixtures. I printed out some example pictures from Lowes� website and encouraged him to stay in the brushed nickel, �elegant simplicity� family. We�ll see with what he comes.... I�m cautiously optimistic. I�m hoping K will conclude his business in time to run J to school so I don�t have to take G out in the cold. I don�t want him to be sick in the car when I couldn�t immediately clean up after him. I hope J understands why I won�t be able to attend his feast today. *Sigh*

I�m wearing change of clothing number three, the previous two being saturated with vomit. I think this is what I was placed on this earth to do - clean up puke. I do it so well. Talk about mutli-tasking! I can clean dribbling wretch from a child�s mouth, while wiping the foul-smelling floor, spraying Lysol and preparing a change of clothing for myself and said ill child. At once! Everyone has their calling in life. This is mine.

THREE HOURS AFTER THIS DRAFT WAS WRITTEN:

It's now 2:34pm. E is still at school and K will be picking him up after he drops off a check at the lighting company (we went over our lighting allowance by about $800!). I called the school to ask them what time the Thanksgiving party was and I was informed they're not having one - they simply made stew to share with the rest of the school. Uh, okay.

K came home with pictures of the lights he had chosen, just as I was leaving to take J to school. I waited for him and he rode with us and showed me the lights for every room. I told J that I was so sorry, but I wouldn't be able to make it to his feast after all. He said he understood.

I'm now on clothing change number five and I still haven't showered. I'm afraid to leave G alone too long, because he's been sick several more times, including once in the car.

After we dropped J off at school, we stopped at Target and I got Pepto for G, Sudafed for K and picked up E's Ten.ex. My god, we're a drug family! We stopped and got some lunch on the way home. G is now sitting watching TV and acting like he feels a bit better, but still somewhat queasy. I have to leave in about fifteen minutes to fetch J from school.

K did really well choosing our lights. He chose all white, brushed nickel or aluminum, no brass. The only thing I didn't really care for was a fixture in our bathroom he really loved (and was so proud he chose). It was just too contemporary for the style of decor we have. I lied and told him I loved it, but we'll probably change it out anyway. It was really expensive.

Well, I'm going to try for a lightning fast shower before I go. Wish me luck.

I'm wearing: PUKE!

I'm eating/drinking: blecch... nothing

I'm listening to: G watching Sagwa or some damn PBS thing

FIVE MORE DAYS!!!!

last & next

new old profile notes design host