VERY GRAPHIC ENTRY - not for those with a weak stomach

2003-11-29 at 7:11 a.m.


I'd rather do anything than throw up. Anything!! Root canal, child birth... anything.

I guess it was just a mat-ter of time before I caught it. E brought it home with him, G caught it a day or so later, so now it was my (and J's) turn to experience all the joy that is stomach flu.

Thursday night, I was sitting here at the computer (natch) and I started to feel lightheaded and really tired. I went upstairs to lie down. I slept for about an hour and a half when K woke me to see what G had done. I staggered out of bed to find G asleep on one step of the staircase! I told K to make sure he didn't roll over and tumble down the stairs, then I went back to bed. I couldn't fall back to sleep. I knew I was getting sick. First I got the hot and cold flashes, then the racing heart, then the shakes. Then my Thanksgiving dinner made an encore - a not so appetizing one.

Poor J. He had been asleep next to me in my bed. The sights and sounds of someone puking is not exactly conducive to the sleep process, so he awoke and was comforting me. As I was cleaning myself up, he starting throwing up, as well. Poor little guy. He wanted his Daddy. I called for K to come and help.

In five minutes, I was losing the rest of my dinner. J followed suit by being sick again, too. Finally, I sent J downstairs to stay with K. I was in no shape to help him, what with my being as sick as I was.

I have never been so sick in my life. I was freezing and shivering, then I was burning up and sweating. My mind raced. My head pounded and I threw up every five minutes for the next six hours or so. K brought me ice chips, which tasted wonderful! My mouth was so hot and dry, the ice felt amazing in my mouth.

Naturally, with nothing in my stomach, I was puking only bile and whatever liquid from the ice had made its way into my system. I wouldn't have been surprised to see my toenails come out into that wastebasket. Oh, and to give you a true sense of what I was going through... I had it coming out of both ends. I knew you'd want to know that.

Being sick was not the only thing that went wrong Thanksgiving Day. G bashed his head o' steel into my mouth and split my lip. So while vomitting, I was doing so through a fat lip. Earlier in the day, I broke a tooth, so I had to vomit around a sharp, jagged-edged tooth.

Today I feel much better, but I feel like I've been hit by a truck. My back is killing me, from hours and hours of wretching.

K is sick, too. He's had a horrible cough for a week or so, and he has diarrhea now, too. He needs to get better because he starts his Santa jobs tomorrow.

Tomorrow.

Tomorrow is the day!!!

_________________________________

HOUSE UPDATE: We have our walk-through at 9:00am on December 23rd! They have most of the floor laid, all the doors on, all the walls painted and are currently building the spindles on the staircase! YAY!

I'm wearing: peach sweatshirt, peach and coral sleep pants

I'm listening to: "Cleveland Rocks" by Ian Hunter

I'm eating/drinking: diet coke

Current weather conditions in St. Charles, MO: clear, but COLD... 22 degrees!!

last & next

new old profile notes design host