I want out of this damned apartment!

2003-11-05 at 9:46 a.m.


Question:

Why do people take the time to fill out diaryland surveys only to answer the questions:

no

no

no

never

I don't know

no

none

...Oh to have that kind of free time. If you're so indifferent about a subject, why be bothered to take a survey about it?

I'm so sick of living in this apartment, I can't see straight. Everything is a pain in the ass, from taking out the trash to getting the mail. The biggest pain in the ass of all - laundry. A few weeks ago, the assholes who run this place sent out a letter giving the "advantages" of renting here, as opposed to buying. Now don't get me wrong... I'm not bashing those who rent. I'm a renter, too, remember! But for Heaven's sake! These "pros" to renting were preposterous.

"No outside maintenance!" (yep, that's what they do - no outside maintenance!)

"No hefty mortgage payments!" (That's true! Instead, we pay a hefty rent payment that I can't write off come tax time!)

"Convenient covered parking!" (Yes, for $35 a month, you have the privledge of finding someone else parked in your spot. But considering the lights in the carports haven't worked in months, you only discover this upon actually hitting the car in your spot. Beats a garage anyday!)

"Convenient laundry facitilies!" (Absolutely! I enjoy trumping through the rain, carrying a ten-ton laundry bag across delapidated sidewalks in poorly lit walkways, to fumble with a key that doesn't work, pay $2.00 per load (more if the clothes don't get dry the first time around or if someone comes along and stops your dryer!) and stand guard over your wash so no one walks off with your unmentionables, then haul it all back home and hope it doesn't wrinkle along the way. Who would want a pesky in-home laundry room, when you can have all the above mentioned ammenities? I especially love having to scour the streets for quarters like a vagrant. "No, I'm not homeless - I live in an apartment with a convenient laundry facility!"

"No water/trash/sewer or cable bill!" (No, the $200 a month I spend on laundry more than makes up for it though. And I'd gladly trade my "free" cable for more than 25 or so crappy channels, including five "snow" channels for a dish with a bill, thanks.)

There were other "advantages" but by this time, I had fallen over from laughter and was unable to read them. My tears of mirth moistened the memo, deeming it undecipherable.

I can't wait to have enough room that more than one of us can sit in the family room at a time. I can't wait to be able to park in my own garage where no one opens their door into me. I want to be able to have my choice of toilets to use if one of them is already in use. I want to rinse my hair while standing up, instead of kneeling in the tub because the water pressure is so inadequate here in this advantageous apartment. I want to not hear a toilet running all night. I want a refrigerator that doesn't leak so badly that I have to keep a mixing bowl on the top shelf to prevent my food from floating away. I want to walk less than a mile to retrieve my mail. I want to walk through a room without having to turn sideways to dodge protruding furniture.

I want my house!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I'm wearing: Old Navy jeans and my Wagon Wheel Motel shirt I got in CA (I'll have to take a picture of this shirt - it's gorgeous!

I'm listening to: "Remember When" by Alan Jackson (What a tear jerker this is!)

I'm eating/drinking: coffee and an orange

Current weather conditions in St. Charles, MO: cloudy and COLD 40 degrees

last & next

new old profile notes design host