Snot and houses

2003-11-07 at 8:51 a.m.


I'm at the stage in my cold where all I do is blow my nose. Every two minutes or so, I'm honking away. Yesterday, while driving, I couldn't reach my box of Kleenex. I couldn't very well lean across the front seat to try to retrieve it from the passenger side floor, so I grabbed what I could reach - G's diaper bag. In the diaper bag, I found nothing appropriate on which to blow my nose, except an outfit of his.

Now let me stress that the need to blow one's nose is similar to the need to empty the bladder. When it has to be done, it has to be done. So.... I blew my nose on G's little outfit. Before you go and get all disgusted, please note that I promptly took the outfit inside upon returning home, washed it with the laundry that evening and replaced the outfit with a clean one in his diaper bag.

I mean... when you gotta honk your horn, you gotta honk your horn.

My new house is locked. This is a good sign. Builders lock the property's door when the drywall is taped and ready to paint. It helps cut down on vandalism. I'm happy we're finally at this stage, but it makes wandering through my palatial mansion difficult. Okay, so it's a palatial mansion compared to where I'm living now. I met another of my neighbors. Her name is D and her husband's name is T. They're building directly across the street from us. They're probably in their forties and have a sixteen year old son. They're so nice. I also met the son of a neighbor I had met several weeks ago. It's odd seeing people wave to you as they drive past and stop their cars to say hello. I'm used to a place where people stick their noses in the air and ignore you when you wave to them. People who look at you like you're from another planet when you try to start a conversation. Could it be I'll really be living in a place where I like my neighbors? It'd be a first, that's for sure.

We've gotten a confirmed completion date - December 23rd!! That's Tony's birthday, so I don't know if that's a good sign or a bad one. It'll work out perfectly. We can give notice here and write our very last rent payment to this place December 1st. K will be busy with Santa work through Christmas Day, but I can start bringing things in on the 24th, then we can do the big move the day after. I don't mind that we won't actually "be in" by Christmas. The gift I'll be receiving is worth having Christmas in a state of upheeval.

I think a call is coming in - gotta run!

Remind me to tell you about the Bizzaro World I witnessed at the laundry room last night, nnkay?

last & next

new old profile notes design host