Weird, weird and weird!

2003-11-08 at 9:02 a.m.


My sons... gotta love 'em!

I think.

When G, age 2, awakens in the morning, the first thing he does is to rummage through the pantry. I can't wait to be in the new house where I can actually lock the pantry door. G brought out a few various staples, such as a can of tomato soup, a loaf of bread and a box of spaghetti. I thanked him for his vote for breakfast choice, then put the afore mentioned items back in the pantry. I told him, how much he understood I don't know, that when Daddy got out of the bathroom, he'd make pancakes.

A few minutes later, K calls down to me, "L? Come and see what your son has done." I asked, "Will I be amused, proud or pissed off?" He said, "Yes."

I limped upstairs (feet still hurt!) to find my adorable son sitting on my bedroom floor, surrounded by a mound of dry spaghetti. He had a rather disappointed look on his face, as if it didn't taste quite how he expected it to.

K and I burst into a fit of giggles. This kid is so hard to get angry with. He helped us put the spaghetti back in the box. I hope all the carpet fibers boil out when we cook it. Yeah, yeah... I'm all about hygiene and all, but I'm also all about not letting $2.39 worth of pasta go to waste six days before payday.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Okay, onto the weird shit I witnessed at the laundry room the other night. I was doing several loads of laundry (after all, it was laundry day - you know, a day that ends in "Y") when I saw a girl I had never before seen. This isn't unusual. This apartment complex specializes in run down, crappy, overpriced, delapidated, dysfunctional interim housing, so to see someone new is really not out of the ordinary. There's a high turn over rate here. She looked like a perfectly normal girl - early 20s, attractive, well dressed...

... and weird as all fucking hell!

She didn't appear to be doing laundry. She wandered around the laundry room, staring at the washers and dryers. She went up to the bulletin board, where people hang up "for sale" items and such, and took all the phone numbers from each of the ads. She then went into the lounge, where she sat on the couch. Then she sat on the loveseat. Then she sat at the table. Then she came back into the laundry area while I was folding clothes and proceeded to stare at me. I could see her in the reflection of the window. I didn't know whether she would plant a knife in my back or ask me for spare change.

Then she went back into the lounge and played musical chairs for awhile. When I was done folding my load, I left. She had managed to sneak outside, unbeknownst to me, and was outside staring at the Coke machine. When she heard the squeak of the door shutting behind me, she ran like hell in the other side of the building, then watched me through the glass door.

WTF??

When I went back to fetch more loads, she was still there. This time she was roaming through the exercise room, on her cell phone. When she saw me, she turned and ran. Then she came back in and wandered around the washers and dryers again. She looked through the cabinets under the sink. She went back to the bulletin board, then got a newspaper from outside. She took out her pen and scribbled on every square inch of it.

Then another weirdo came in - a guy in his fifties who talked to his wash, talked to the washers and got into an argument with the dryers ("What do you mean you only take quarters? What if I only had dimes? Brzzadakkennmsnmoij!! Jnnfhuuekeksdmmsn!!")

I got the last of my laundry and got the hell out of there.

K and my mom both think the girl was waiting for her connection. The fact that she was jittery, shifty-eyed and paranoid, tells me that she was strung out on something. As far as the man, I guess he was just your standard issue weirdo. Laundromats and busses are the places to encounter these people. Not that I have anything against weirdos - I'm pretty fuckin' weird and I've spawned some exceptionally weird offspring. But we try to keep our weirdness to a minimun in the presence of others.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

House update! They put the columns in front of the porch and placed a nifty little phy-pon atop the front door. It's so pretty! *Sniff* I stood on my front porch last night, listening to the deafening silence, watching the sunset over the trees and I thought... I'm home. Truly home. I never thought I could feel that way about a place the wasn't California, but I truly do.

*Bliss*

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

45 days until I move into my house!

I'm wearing: yellow thermal jammies

I'm eating/drinking: coffee and pancakes

I'm listening to: the dishwasher and the kids playing cards with their Daddy

Current weather conditions is St. Charles, MO: sunny and 33 degrees

last & next

new old profile notes design host