My Trip, Volume III

2003-10-30 at 9:19 a.m.


It looks like I'll be home with at least two sick kids today. G seems okay, but E and J still have fevers. J's fever comes and goes, but E's hasn't been below 101.9. There hasn't been any more puking or diarrhea, fortunately, but neither of them want to eat and J is complaining of a sore throat. Keeping J home today, means he'll miss his Halloween party. He's so upset about that, but what can I do? E missed his first preschool Halloween party too, due to illness.

How about more trip notes? Here's what I wrote on the night of...

SATURDAY, OCTOBER 18th (Yes, I wrote alot that day!)

Originally, the plan was that I would take the Disneyland shuttle from LAX and my mom would meet me in Anaheim. My mom, understandably, doesn't "do" LAX. I myself, avoid it like the plague unless someone is with me. I'm fine inside the airport. It's the trying to figure out outside the place that perplexes me. However, when I arrived at the baggage carousel, there was mom! I was so glad to see her. She said she had felt bad about making me wait for the shuttle alone, especially with my feet hurting (they've been killing me on this trip), so she took the shuttle down to LAX to greet me, then we would both ride it back.

We arrived in Anaheim, then took mom's car to Ikea, where we met my aunt K for lunch. We were absolutely starving, so along the way, we stopped at Carl's Jr. for some fries. I was blown away by Ikea! For lunch, I had Swedish meatballs and lingonberries. We spent at least two hours walking through, looking at furniture and things. I jotted down some notes on some storage ideas for the new house. I had never been to Ikea (the nearest one to me is Chicago!) and I was amazed by all they had.

K called while I was walking throught the store, but the call was dropped.

We went back to mom's house, where we relaxed in her backyard for awhile. My dad had been at a seminar in Palm Springs and arrived home a short time later.

We went out to dinner at a place called Kath!e Mae's, where we all ordered spaghetti and chili. When we got back to mom and dad's, we watched Trading Spaces. Since moving to the apartment, I've been without TLC (and everything else worth watching) so I haven't had my fill of decorating shows.

I came to bed early, still being on central time. I hope I get a decent night's slepp for once. Good night and I'll write more when I get to Ventura tomorrow!

~~ > End entry < ~~

I need to run... the kids are requesting pancakes. Let's hope they actually eat them. They've refused everything else I've fixed! More later!

WATCH CLAY!! TRL at 5pm EST!

last & next

new old profile notes design host