October in August

2004-08-13 at 12:14 p.m.


I'm embarrassed... I was hunting for a new diary layout yesterday and while testing one out, I checked my guestbook link. In all honesty, I had forgotten I had a guestbook. There were a dozen or so entries I had never seen! So if you've signed my guestbook recently, thank you. I apologize for not acknowledging such until now. *Blushes*

My search for a new layout was unsusccessful. I wish I knew more about html - I'd design one myself. I may have to take an old layout and tweek it. I love my current design, but I'm ready for a change. Used to be, there were hundreds of sites offering hundreds of awesome templates. Now, good ones are few and far between. I searched Beaut!fy and Frozen K!ss completely and found nothing much at all that hits my eye.

Monday is J's kindergarten orientation. I'm to have him there at 9:10am when we'll meet his teacher (whose name I still don't know), familiarize him with the school and meet his classmates. Afterwards, he's going to ride the bus to the bus stop on sort of a "practice" run. He already knows his bus numbers and the times at which they'll arrive/return. He must have read it on the paperwork they sent, because I hadn't mentioned anything to him about it. I still haven't heard a word about E's teacher, para, bus or IEP. If I haven't heard anything by the end of the day today, I'll have to call them. School starts a week from Monday - it would be nice to know what the hell is goiing on.

Monday the 23rd won't come a minute too soon for me. Yes, I'm sad that my baby is starting kindergarten. I truly am. And I'm concerened about how E will handle his new situation, but as crazy as all three of them have driven me this summer, I'm more than ready to physically throw place them on busses and enjoy some peace.

We're having amazing weather. It feels more like October than August. For the past three days, we've had the windows open all day and night. Last night, it got down into the mid 40s! It struggled to reach 68 degrees yesterday. After receiving a $250 electric bill last week, I won't complain about not having to use the air conditioning. In fact, we're going to have to be frugal as hell from now on about using it. A/C is one luxury we've always allowed ourselves. We keep it between 71 and 73 degrees on both floors all summer long. We make up for it by keeping it cool in the house all winter - around 65 - 68 degrees. I guess we'll have to get used to it being 77 - 78. I can't afford electric bills like that.

Well, the smoke alarm is going off which signals lunch is ready. Gotta run!

last & next

new old profile notes design host