Progress Report

2004-08-24 at 9:30 a.m.


My gold ran out on this diary yesterday, so I have to suffer along without the benefit of knowing who the hell is reading this drivel. At least until next payday when I can go gold again. How will I ever survive not knowing how many hits I'm getting for "poopy diaper pictures"??

Yesterday, as you know, was the boys' first day at their new school. I think it went extraordinarily well. My morning was uneventful, spent mainly out of sorts, feeling guilty for longing for the day that had finally arrived.

G and I solved the mystery of "who spilled the tubby custard" and I did some laundry. I took a shower without the serenade of breaking glass and blood curdling screams, like I normally do.

I sat by the phone and waited, in panic, for a phone call from the school that never came. I incorrectly was certain the principal would call and say, "E is raging and has broken a chair over his teacher's head - come get him please." I also anticipated the call entitled, "J won't shut up and is driving his teacher to early retirement - come get him please."

Neither happened and I was grateful.

At 12:30pm, I loaded G in the car and waited for J to get off the bus. I heard from some of the neighbors that the bus garage will be adding several stops along our street in the upcoming weeks. I'm glad. I can see a point in time where driving to the stop three times a day will get old - fast. J got off the bus and talked a blue streak about his day. He loves his teacher, his classroom, his playground and his new friend "Tire", which I assume means, "Tyler". The class counted to 100, something J accomplished when he was eighteen months old and had crackers for a snack.

His teacher forgot to unload his school supplies from his backpack, so he had to load it all back there again today. They've already hit me up for their first fundraiser - a 2005 Entertainment Book. Oh well - I buy one every year anyway. This year, I guess I'll be buying two.

Shortly before 2:00pm, my cell phone rang. It was a number I didn't recognize, so in typical Linda fashion, I opted to panic.

"Mrs. Mc.... ? This is whatever-her-name-is, the school nurse at M... Don't worry - everything is fine. I have a question about E's medication."

Whew. What a relief.

After I answered her question, jumped started my heart and hung up the phone, I had to chuckle a bit. She has the funniest voice. It's very high pitched and sounds just like the little, tiny organ~playing woman from "Sixteen Candles" - the one who played at Jenny's wedding.

Way too early, I drove the kids to the bus stop to get E. It was raining and I can't find my umbrella anywhere, so we stayed in the car and waited. And waited.

And waited. Finally, forty five minutes after school got out, the bus arrived. All the kids in the neighborhood got off the bus.

Except E!!

My mind started creating worst case scenarios, like E got on the wrong bus, was dropped off along the highway and was wandering, crying near speeding cars in the rain. Then my Mommy-Brain-O'Mush got a grip and realized, he probably fell asleep. He always falls asleep on long car rides. The driver called for him on the radio and he finally came to and got off the bus. The neighbors were all so nice. They stayed with me while we figured out what had happened. They just as easily could have gotten in their cars and gone home. My old neighbors would have.

E told me he cried at school after K left. I asked him what they did in school and he said "Stuff".

He seemed to like it. He likes his teacher and paras (one for morning, one for afternoon) and loved the chicken quesadilla he had for lunch. He said he talked to a couple of kids and thinks they'll end up being friends, but he doesn't remember their names.

Both kids slept like stones all night, so I guess school really wore them out.

Good.



last & next

new old profile notes design host